More Afrihost Treachery

racer

So a few months ago I got a Cell C Fixed LTE service via Afrihost.
The product has never worked since i received it. Well, ok.. it works, but:

Ping: 38ms
Download: 0.73Mbps
Upload: 4.47Mbps

That's not broadband nor LTE speeds, but that's what I've been putting up with for 6 months now.. I tried dealing with Afrihost support, which was a useless exercise. The reps here led me around the garden path (as they're paid to do) and basically I left with 2 choices - Cancel and pay a R999 fine, or keep paying for a piece of **** for 6 months and then get the hell out.

So I've just paid my 6th invoice on this crap, but when trying to cancel I was told that I was in my 6 month now and could only cancel after 1st April! Really? Yes i KNOW that I'm in my 6th month, but I also know that I pay in advance, which means my 6th month is paid for.

Insisting that I can only cancel in April means I have to pay for a 7th month! I was told I have to use the service for 6 months before i could cancel without a fine,.,, I have paid for 6 months and want to cancel.. I do NOT want this piece of **** connection a day longer than that and I REFUSE to pay for a 7th month.

I trust that one of the Afrihost reps here will sort this out for me please.... I want this service cancelled on the 31st March, I will not pay for another day on it...

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
Erm good luck, it takes a couple of days for them to respond usually, and they will cue up the apologies first with blurb about "this is not the kind of service we wish to give to our clients bla bla bla"

7ty7

They charged me R999 for cancellation although I did not even take a Modem.

7ty7

Well they are going to be loosing customers, I have an existing contract with them which I am also going to cancel.

itsme2

Yup, avoid Afrihost. Being punished to cancel the service for poor performance is so unethical.

STORMERSFAN