MTN Black Friday Discussions

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,819
The "internet" APN is 3x faster (30Mbps vs 90Mbps) than "mymtn" for me.

I believe you could have switched towers or servers or something else because those APNs are the same for me... decent speeds on both but zero marked improvement from one or the other
 

chickenbeef

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
8,911
I believe you could have switched towers or servers or something else because those APNs are the same for me... decent speeds on both but zero marked improvement from one or the other
Think you're right. Ignore my ramblings above.

Seems like if I have a long running connection the speed test is slow. If I turn off my data and reconnect then run a speed test it runs at a higher speed.

My 60Mbps+ results were with the internet APN and so was the 20Mbps result (long running connection). The other tests were with mymtn. Results are very close so there's probably no difference and it's just a placebo effect :)

Screenshot_20201231-000001_Speedtest.jpg
 
Last edited:

ReeceDBN031

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
2,326
Seems as though my SIM is faulty and i need a replacement... took them a week to figure this out...
 

Cos19

Active Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2020
Messages
31
I use the "MTNVPN" APN. This is the unrestricted APN. My speeds are between 90 and 120 Mbps. Also gets you Nat Type 2 for gaming. Needs to be activated by MTN.
 

Mr Scratch

Expert Member
Joined
May 15, 2013
Messages
4,819
I use the "MTNVPN" APN. This is the unrestricted APN. My speeds are between 90 and 120 Mbps. Also gets you Nat Type 2 for gaming. Needs to be activated by MTN.

Fully opens you up to internet "wild west" activity unless you have a firewall - and it shouldn't impact your speeds...

Can anyone test?
 

ahmedy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2014
Messages
127
Has anybody else had an amount different to the actual contract amount being debited from their bank account?

I'm on the 500 gig contract and today I see that R869 was debited instead of the R499
 

Vis1/0N

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2009
Messages
2,177
Has anyone managed to sort out their billing issues ? My current statement is sitting at R1400 instead of the R499 I took out.

01st Jan... 01st Sep, Oct, Nov, Dec Paid R169 and 02/01/2021 paid R263.19 via debit order.

Oct bill (12-10-2020 to 11-11-2020) was R169,
Nov Bill (12-11-2020 to 21-11-2020), and Prorata period at the regular price (22-11-2020 to 11-12-2020) was R849,
Dec bill was 263.19 R199 of which was for 12-12-2020 to 11-01-2021 and R64 was ProRata for period 02-12-2020 to 11-12-2020. My upgrade to the R199/month package was completed on 02/12/2020.

Fortunately they billed me the regular R169 for the period 12 Nov to 01 Dec and not the R849 or even a prorata portion for 22 Nov to 01 Dec at the regular rates. Billing still does not make sense, but rather that than the bill-shock amount.

Also seems that they allocate the invoice at the 12th of a month when I get my new bundles, and debit me on the 01st within that period. I suppose any voice or out of bundle usage would be added in the next cycle, don't understand why they don't just invoice after the cycle ends.

Email address on their system for me is 60xxx@noemail.co.za

Has anybody else had an amount different to the actual contract amount being debited from their bank account?

I'm on the 500 gig contract and today I see that R869 was debited instead of the R499
Prorata from the time of upgrade to 11th December for R370 and the R499 for 12 Dec to 11 Jan, with the debits running in the middle of the billing cycle as per my experience? Has it always been this way?
 

abzob

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
33,666
Has anybody else had an amount different to the actual contract amount being debited from their bank account?

I'm on the 500 gig contract and today I see that R869 was debited instead of the R499

Yes, pro-rata for November.
 

I.am.Sam

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
89,104
my old contracts was 299+299+469

new contracts are 499+499+99

so around the same

howcome it didnt balance out the pro rata seeing i paid for novemeber the full amount even though i upgraded half way
 

abzob

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 18, 2008
Messages
33,666
my old contracts was 299+299+469

new contracts are 499+499+99

so around the same

howcome it didnt balance out the pro rata seeing i paid for novemeber the full amount even though i upgraded half way

Because we’ve been double-billed for November. Full month of old contract and pro-rata of new contract.
 

airborne

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
12,686
so we not suppose to be double billed right
Well they won't retroactively remove the remaining data from the old contract and credit you for it so you have to pay the full contract amount for the old and the prorata for the new contract.

Sucks, I wonder if you can tell them you want the contract upgrade to only be active from the beginning of the next allocation which would avoid the prorata charge?
 
Top