MTN OOB Barring now available

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
11,661
#1



Can be accessed from *141# option 2 then option 11.

Default is to allow OOB but can be set to bar any OOB usage. ;)


EDIT: Thanks to @Venomous for the correct USSD string *141*0#


OOB Barring launched by mistake MTN said..... Anyways still active on *141*5# option 1 then option 4. :D
 
Last edited:

3WA

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
4,330
#3
Okay, I guess I'll continue being an MTN customer for the foreseeable future.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
11,661
#6
Yes it's for prepaid too. Tested it. With a 50mb data bundles loaded I fired up a speedtest and during the speedtest MTN killed the data connection and no airtime was used. Data gets killed completely until you switch it off or buy a bundle again and toggle airplane mode.

Have to give MTN a hi five because I never expected this from them.
 

Randux

Expert Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
3,130
#7
Yes it's for prepaid too. Tested it. With a 50mb data bundles loaded I fired up a speedtest and during the speedtest MTN killed the data connection and no airtime was used. Data gets killed completely until you switch it off or buy a bundle again and toggle airplane mode.

Have to give MTN a hi five because I never expected this from them.
*141# only gives me those option. I'm on the 1c price plan. Maybe I need to load a data bundle 1st?
 
Last edited:

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
45,700
#8
*141# only gives me those option. I'm on the 1c price plan. Maybe I need to load a data bundle 1st?
So there is no option 2. MTN Menu... weird.

My prepaid SIM hasn't had a bundles on it in years. On the 79c per min plan.
 

Randux

Expert Member
Joined
May 7, 2010
Messages
3,130
#11
So there is no option 2. MTN Menu... weird.

My prepaid SIM hasn't had a bundles on it in years. On the 79c per min plan.
We need more details about this cause right now it seems you have to meet certain conditions? Or maybe it hasn't been activated on a wide scale?
 

supersunbird

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
45,700
#12
I have airtime on, I know Randux doesn't, how about you Pho3nix?

How would you guys buy a bundle with *141#?
 

Venomous

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Messages
50,506
#13
Thw correct code:
*141*0#

Then you get offered barring as option 8 on contract.

So maybe the 11 or 8 is dependent on add-on services. Ive got data, voice and sms.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
11,661
#18
Thw correct code:
*141*0#

Then you get offered barring as option 8 on contract.

So maybe the 11 or 8 is dependent on add-on services. Ive got data, voice and sms.
Thank you. Yes my method shows on 11 and direct MTN Menu *141*0# shows it on 8. ;)

Depends on what package you are.
 
Joined
May 3, 2017
Messages
2,337
#20
This should not be an option.

OOB Barring should be set by default. Unbarring it should be left as an option.
 
Top