MTN USSD codes

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
#21
To answer my own question:
[TABLE][TR][TD]*141*6*0#[/TD][TD]Cancel active data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*10#[/TD][TD]Buy 10MB data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*100#[/TD][TD]Buy 100MB data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*350#[/TD][TD]Buy 350MB data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*500#[/TD][TD]Buy 500MB data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*1#[/TD][TD]Buy 1GB data bundle[/TD][/TR]
[TR][TD]*141*6*2#[/TD][TD]Buy 2GB data bundle[/TD][/TR][/TABLE]
Hi,

spent already 3 months on testing Huawei cellular modems for USSD support.

E160 - no USSD support at all

E169 - having contacted my Telecom 10 times and asking Huawei for help,
USSD service started to work temporary in limited mode

I can send express code for balance check and it started to work this week,
as crashed in previous week.

Tried to recharge my prepaid account and I can send recharge code from MTMA and get 2 messages

first
Thanks, we received your request.

than
D}şĽ®«Ëí<H‘ßě0ů}»ÓeĐúţ¦‡A3HĎvśaĐúí§Ë*vx®ĺ` =tëÝeů
’Á`9ŚćŠá\*)=ě*ßnz”Ýóó÷ú=ƒ*ňr;ťÍáňđť¬OĎő U 

setting binary mode
trying to send anything from MDMA as USSD, like balance check
I get error message

USSD send failed.

So USSD session is terminated finally and I have to reset a modem
turning it off and inserting it back into notebook to work.

To my surprise, after 20 minutes, the problem with sending USSD codes
has been solved on itself and I could send balance check code
and get right response.

Any idea ginggs ?

Mayby I should send one more USSD command after recharge code, appended, to have it reset modem into ASCII transmission immediately,
to keep USSD session live , active and open afterwards.

Any help ?

Please tell me how it works with other models by Huawei or by other manufacturers.

Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
#23
Hi,
Can somebody tell me what the USSD codes for Nigeria are. Or is there a site where these can be found ?
I would also like to know the same for Kenia.
Thanks,
In my case , Europe, I use express codes, provided by my telecom
and just type them into USSD field in MDMA application.
And some work , some don't.

Express codes are codes like
*xxxxx#
or *xxxx*xx#

btw
good news for you,
my friend is coordinating
2Tbps Trans-Africa Ultra High Speed Optical Fiber Network,
Ghana and Nigeria covered
and
Silk Road in Central Asian countries

Darius
 

robass

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
611
#24
Could someone please advise me . Once you have typed in your USSD command , how do you get it entered ? or activated ?
 

Kgabogk

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,037
#25
MTN can you please cluster your ussd menus under one ussd code like voda *111#...how on earth do you expect us to memorise all this codes?*141# can be used as a standard code to cluster all the ussd codes tgether...141+/162/131/135/123/130 etc is just a lot for us.
 
Last edited:

KrazyKid

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
168
#26
Hi All, I would like to know if anyone has any USSD codes for MTN network to extract the following info from a mobile device.

MSISDN (Cell Number)
SIM Card Serial Number

I am busy implementing a mobile device management product and the client require us to pull a report on this info?

Thanks
<KK>
 

KyleF

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
1
#30
These are the MTN USSD codes to load and query data bundles and other options. This should alleviate the necessity to put the SIM in a regular phone for these actions.

1. *141# - Balance Enquiry

response format:

"Y'ello. You have Rxx.xx airtime, xx.xxMB Data, xx MMS and xxx SMS (xx exp dd/mm) remaining."

2. *141*<PIN># - Recharge Request

3. *141*4# - Tariff Analyser and Priceplan Migrations menu

4. *141*4*0# - Tariff Analyser

5. *141*4*<Price Plan Option># - Priceplan migration

6. *141*6*<BundleSize># - Data bundle purchase

7. *141*6*0# - Data bundle cancellation

8. *141*6328*<MSISDN># - Me2U Top Up Request

9. *141*6328*<MSISDN>*<AMOUNT># - Me2U Transfer

10. *141*7*<BundleSize># SMS bundle purchase

11. *141*7*0# - SMS bundle cancellation

12. *141*8# - Yello Fortune Entries

Is this USSD code can be run in different Network provider? how will I know what is the list of USSD to a specific Network prover? HOw can i monitor whats the USSD menu driven sending ?
 

acidrain

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
4,561
#33
Anyone know the code to have data settings sent to your phone ? My almost app seems to have messed mine up
 

Kgabogk

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,037
#36
i still don't understand why MTN ussd codes are not easily accesible like voda 111 code,i wonder how millions of MTN users who don't use MBB access this codes,141+,162,123,135 etc,its just impossible to know how to access this codes if you are a new MTN user
 

nic777

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,058
#37
Hi,

Is there any code which you can run to find the airtime of a particular number? e.g. I have my MTN phone but want to see the airtime of my modem which I don't have access to right now.

I assume if there is one it would need a password.
 

D15

Active Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
57
#40
Hi!
The 141 menu list does not display as posted above some time back!
I have bought and added airtime on to my data SIM and am now trying to convert it to data with the SIM in a phone.
Can anyone please tell me what the codes are to do this?
 
Top