MTN USSD codes

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
To answer my own question:
*141*6*0#Cancel active data bundle
*141*6*10#Buy 10MB data bundle
*141*6*100#Buy 100MB data bundle
*141*6*350#Buy 350MB data bundle
*141*6*500#Buy 500MB data bundle
*141*6*1#Buy 1GB data bundle
*141*6*2#Buy 2GB data bundle
Hi,

spent already 3 months on testing Huawei cellular modems for USSD support.

E160 - no USSD support at all

E169 - having contacted my Telecom 10 times and asking Huawei for help,
USSD service started to work temporary in limited mode

I can send express code for balance check and it started to work this week,
as crashed in previous week.

Tried to recharge my prepaid account and I can send recharge code from MTMA and get 2 messages

first
Thanks, we received your request.

than
D}şĽ®«Ëí<H‘ßě0ů}»ÓeĐúţ¦‡A3HĎvśaĐúí§Ë*vx®ĺ` =tëÝeů
’Á`9ŚćŠá\*)=ě*ßnz”Ýóó÷ú=ƒ*ňr;ťÍáňđť¬OĎő U 

setting binary mode
trying to send anything from MDMA as USSD, like balance check
I get error message

USSD send failed.

So USSD session is terminated finally and I have to reset a modem
turning it off and inserting it back into notebook to work.

To my surprise, after 20 minutes, the problem with sending USSD codes
has been solved on itself and I could send balance check code
and get right response.

Any idea ginggs ?

Mayby I should send one more USSD command after recharge code, appended, to have it reset modem into ASCII transmission immediately,
to keep USSD session live , active and open afterwards.

Any help ?

Please tell me how it works with other models by Huawei or by other manufacturers.

Darius
 

darius2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2009
Messages
122
Hi,
Can somebody tell me what the USSD codes for Nigeria are. Or is there a site where these can be found ?
I would also like to know the same for Kenia.
Thanks,
In my case , Europe, I use express codes, provided by my telecom
and just type them into USSD field in MDMA application.
And some work , some don't.

Express codes are codes like
*xxxxx#
or *xxxx*xx#

btw
good news for you,
my friend is coordinating
2Tbps Trans-Africa Ultra High Speed Optical Fiber Network,
Ghana and Nigeria covered
and
Silk Road in Central Asian countries

Darius
 

robass

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Messages
630
Could someone please advise me . Once you have typed in your USSD command , how do you get it entered ? or activated ?
 

Kgabogk

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,053
MTN can you please cluster your ussd menus under one ussd code like voda *111#...how on earth do you expect us to memorise all this codes?*141# can be used as a standard code to cluster all the ussd codes tgether...141+/162/131/135/123/130 etc is just a lot for us.
 
Last edited:

KrazyKid

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
172
Hi All, I would like to know if anyone has any USSD codes for MTN network to extract the following info from a mobile device.

MSISDN (Cell Number)
SIM Card Serial Number

I am busy implementing a mobile device management product and the client require us to pull a report on this info?

Thanks
<KK>
 

crowbar2008

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2008
Messages
215
Ussd Code for S.A users for MTN blackberry service is *141*11# this is for prepaid users
 

KyleF

New Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
1
These are the MTN USSD codes to load and query data bundles and other options. This should alleviate the necessity to put the SIM in a regular phone for these actions.

1. *141# - Balance Enquiry

response format:

"Y'ello. You have Rxx.xx airtime, xx.xxMB Data, xx MMS and xxx SMS (xx exp dd/mm) remaining."

2. *141*<PIN># - Recharge Request

3. *141*4# - Tariff Analyser and Priceplan Migrations menu

4. *141*4*0# - Tariff Analyser

5. *141*4*<Price Plan Option># - Priceplan migration

6. *141*6*<BundleSize># - Data bundle purchase

7. *141*6*0# - Data bundle cancellation

8. *141*6328*<MSISDN># - Me2U Top Up Request

9. *141*6328*<MSISDN>*<AMOUNT># - Me2U Transfer

10. *141*7*<BundleSize># SMS bundle purchase

11. *141*7*0# - SMS bundle cancellation

12. *141*8# - Yello Fortune Entries

Is this USSD code can be run in different Network provider? how will I know what is the list of USSD to a specific Network prover? HOw can i monitor whats the USSD menu driven sending ?
 

MavChat

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
912
question: how do i run ussd commands on the dell latitude d630's integrated modem?
 

acidrain

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2007
Messages
4,746
Anyone know the code to have data settings sent to your phone ? My almost app seems to have messed mine up
 

Kgabogk

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,053
i still don't understand why MTN ussd codes are not easily accesible like voda 111 code,i wonder how millions of MTN users who don't use MBB access this codes,141+,162,123,135 etc,its just impossible to know how to access this codes if you are a new MTN user
 

nic777

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
2,059
Hi,

Is there any code which you can run to find the airtime of a particular number? e.g. I have my MTN phone but want to see the airtime of my modem which I don't have access to right now.

I assume if there is one it would need a password.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,381
you can only do that by inserting your data sim in a phone...
OP wants to check the balance of a different SIM, as far as I know this cannot be done on MTN.
 

D15

Active Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
57
Hi!
The 141 menu list does not display as posted above some time back!
I have bought and added airtime on to my data SIM and am now trying to convert it to data with the SIM in a phone.
Can anyone please tell me what the codes are to do this?
 
Top