MWEB staff running a scam?

Arctus

Active Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2011
Messages
73
Reaction score
1
Reported an issue earlier in the week, which was forwarded to Telkom and resolved. (Thanks)
Text messages were received from MWEB tech support regarding the progress of the resolution of the fault, these messages were sent from +27 (81) 6220000

I have just received another message from +27 (81) 6220000 stating the following:

John Chigandiwa invited you to Facebook. Learn more: Edited to remove contact number, (thanks for pointing that out) Reply "stop" to stop getting Facebook texts.

The above URL takes you to: Edited to remove contact number which is not facebook.

If you already have an account clicking on the relevant link directs you here: Edited to remove contact number

Which is also not Facebook

This appears to be a phishing expedition which also appears to have come from the MWEB tech support number.

If I am correct here, MWEB, you have some problems that need to be addressed, having the staff of your ISP phishing your customers is not on.
Having stupid staff that try to fool people with obvious crap, from recognizable numbers is also not good for business, and probably means they need more training.
 
Last edited:
Reported an issue earlier in the week, which was forwarded to Telkom and resolved. (Thanks)
Text messages were received from MWEB tech support regarding the progress of the resolution of the fault, these messages were sent from +27 (81) 6220000

I have just received another message from +27 (81) 6220000 stating the following:

John Chigandiwa invited you to Facebook. Learn more: http://fb.com/l/1L3t2yAAQDtjlFy Reply "stop" to stop getting Facebook texts.

The above URL takes you to: http://m.facebook.com/r.php?k=AQBsS...bhra6koiHCcqFRouoiDznM7tb0PzatDM7QEAcfB2g&r=1 which is not facebook.

If you already have an account clicking on the relevant link directs you here: https://m.facebook.com/login/?next=...s_http=0&remember_this_device=0¬hacked=0&_rdr


Which is also not Facebook

This appears to be a phishing expedition which also appears to have come from the MWEB tech support number.

If I am correct here, MWEB, you have some problems that need to be addressed, having the staff of your ISP phishing your customers is not on.
Having stupid staff that try to fool people with obvious crap, from recognizable numbers is also not good for business, and probably means they need more training.

Good Day Arctus, please provide me your MWEB account details via private message and I will have our abuse team look into this.

Also provide me your cell number or whether it is the cell number linked to your MWEB account.
 
Good Day Arctus, please provide me your MWEB account details via private message and I will have our abuse team look into this.

Also provide me your cell number or whether it is the cell number linked to your MWEB account.

LOL - Thanks for the contact details .. Hope you don't get invited to more FB pages now or get spam calls ..:p.

MWEB is a reputable company - sure they will sort this out. ;)
Be interested to know what happened though..
 
LOL - Thanks for the contact details .. Hope you don't get invited to more FB pages now or get spam calls ..:p.

MWEB is a reputable company - sure they will sort this out. ;)
Be interested to know what happened though..

LoL... I'm interested to know myself... ;)
 
OP, you should know that bulk SMS gateway companies like Clickatell (which I'm sure MWeb use) pool SMS numbers between clients, so I'm pretty sure it's a coincidence that some scrupulous person(s) are using the same gateway.
 
Isn't m.facebook.com the facebook website optimised for mobile browsers?
 
Isn't m.facebook.com the facebook website optimised for mobile browsers?
It is, but I think the arguments passed in the URL causes FB to redirect yet again to another location (this is only what I can tell from glancing at the URL, I don't really want to follow it myself to make 100% sure :P)

But yes, m.facebook.com itself is a legit Facebook URL.
 
Isn't m.facebook.com the facebook website optimised for mobile browsers?

Yep...

Wondering if OP doesn't just have his number registered on Facebook and SMS notifications enabled...

Or, more accurately, that other people are inviting his number to use Facebook, as the case may be.
 
Sounds like an sms gateway issue, I have had my phone group sms from different companies together as they came from the same number.
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X