Mzansi Super League 2019


Executive Member
Aug 9, 2006
Players retained by the squads has been announced:

Mzansi Super League franchises announce retained players
Cameron Delport
Published on August 7, 2019

Cricket South Africa have received a bumper list of more than 250 international players, T20 specialists and Kolpak players who have signed the agreement to enter the draft for the 2019 Mzansi Super League.
The second edition of this global event will take place in November and December this year with the draft scheduled to take place shortly.
Fans can also look forward to the announcement of the marquee players – both South African and international – in the immediate future.
‘This is confirmation that MSL is now an established global brand that is taking its place at the head table alongside the other Global T20 events,’ said CSA chief executive officer Thabang Moroe.
‘We have drawn interest from around the world with players applying from virtually all the top tier international countries.
‘To this can be added our Proteas, past and present, who will add further lustre to our tournament. This will certainly be the biggest T20 event we have hosted since the inaugural T20 World Cup that was staged here in 2007 and became the forerunner of all the global T20 events that followed.
‘We look forward to adding yet another highlight to our home international season that will be followed by the incoming tours by England and Australia. All our stake holders can look forward to an exciting 2019-20 summer.
The six MSL teams have also announced the list of players on their retained list:
Cape Town Blitz: Asif Ali, Janneman Malan, Anrich Nortje, Dale Steyn.
Durban Heat: Kyle Abbott, Sarel Erwee, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Khaya Zondo.
Jozi Stars: Dan Christian, Reeza Hendricks, Duanne Olivier, Sinethemba Qeshile, Ryan Rickelton, Rassie van der Dussen.
Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Junior Dala, Heino Kuhn, Marco Marais, Chris Morris, Jon-Jon Smuts.
Paarl Rocks: Henry Davids, Cameron Delport, Bjorn Fortuin, Aiden Markram, Mangaliso Mosehle, Tabraiz Shamsi.
Tshwane Spartans: Theunis de Bruyn, Tony de Zorzi, Lungi Ngidi, Lutho Sipamla.


Executive Member
Aug 9, 2006
Gazza will coach Durban Heat.

Mzansi Super LeagueGary Kirsten accepts coaching gig in SA
2019-08-08 11:07


Gary Kirsten (Gallo Images)

Related Links

Cape Town - Former Proteas coach Gary Kirsten has committed to coaching in South Africa again, it was confirmed on Thursday.

The 51-year-old, who coached India to a World Cup triumph in 2011, was named as head coach of the Durban Heatahead of the 2019 edition of the Mzansi Super League.

"I have got fond memories of playing cricket at Kingsmead and with my wife being from these parts she thinks it is a natural progression," Kirsten said of his appointment.

"It is also a great opportunity to be involved in South African cricket and when Heinrich (Strydom, Dolphins CEO) gave me the call I thought it was a great chance to stay relevant in the T20 space.

"For us as a franchise we want to ignite as much interest in the game as possible.

"The priority is obviously to win games but we want to get people behind the brand and get the spectators to feel that the Durban Heat is their team.

"It’s a fantastic opportunity for me to add as much value as I can to the side that we select so that they can reach their potential.

"I find that every league is different and it’s going to be important that we get into a rhythm early."

Strydom went out on a limb to secure the services of Kirsten and he couldn’t think of a better man for the job.

"We took a shot in the dark and I gave Gary a ring and he said yes," Strydom said.

"To have his knowledge and his skills on board is incredible and hopefully we will have a good, long relationship going forward.

"As a respected, humble ex-Protea player there are so many positive things that you can say about him and to have him on board is exactly what the game in South Africa needs.

"We are extremely grateful that Gary has taken this opportunity to lead the Durban Heat."


Executive Member
Sep 4, 2013


Cape Town Blitz: Quinton de Kock

Durban Heat: Andile Phehlukwayo

Jozi Stars: Kagiso Rabada

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Imran Tahir

Paarl Rocks: Faf du Plessis

Tshwane Spartans: AB de Villiers


Cape Town Blitz: Wahab Riaz (Pakistan)

Durban Heat: Alex Hales (England)

Jozi Stars: Chris Gayle (Windies)

Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: Jason Roy (England)

Paarl Rocks: David Willey (England)

Tshwane Spartans: Tom Curran (England)
  • Like
Reactions: McT


Executive Member
Sep 25, 2012
Not sure why Chris Gayle is needed in a squad with Reeza Hendricks, Ryan Rickleton, and Rassie van der Dussen (yes, I did watch his innings against India today).

Also, Amla really is out.
  • Like
Reactions: McT


Well-Known Member
Oct 25, 2017
I would still pick Gayle for my team if he flops which is more than half the time you have great back up and if he rally comes off the game is basically yours to loose


B MyBroadband
Super Moderator
Feb 23, 2005
Wonder why Rudi Seconds isn't playing for the Giants again this year.

Also wonder how many matches Roy will grace us with his presence for this time around...
  • Like
Reactions: McT


Honorary Master
Mar 22, 2010
CSA should go to YouTube and see if they would be willing to buy the streaming rights for South Afria/Africa
  • Like
Reactions: McT