New coffee machine

Duan

So my coffee machine had served me very well for mor years than I can remember.

This is what I had: https://www.gourmetfoodshop.co.za/shop/beverages/coffee-machines/saeco-odea-giro-plus/

It has however decided to go decaf. (It died)

So I am in the market for a new one. It worked quite hard with about 20 - 30 cups a day for more than 6 years. Whatever I replace it with should obviously be up to the task.

Mostly we have double espressos and the one button thing works well for me. I want to be able to tune it to my preference so some customizable settings are important.

While manual machines are very attractive they tend to be more that I am willing to part with and too time consuming to operate.

The SO also needs to be able to operate so... ease of use is important.

Does anyone have recommendations at around 10k or less?

calypso

Expert Member
20-30 a day? Im no expert but i think you will struggle to find a machine that does this reliably for R10000.

mr_norris

Expert Member
I have one quite similar to this one (It looks like the only difference is that mine is black). It's quite boss. Two of my friends have the same one I do, and the one services a family. Mine only has to deal with my demands.

I'm quite sure it could handle 10 cups a day, everyday, with regular cleaning, lubing up, and servicing. It's quite a list of demands, but well worth it for what it gives me in return:

- Milk Carafe requires TLC twice a week
- Needs a wipedown inside and out, and the brewgroup needs cleaning once a week
- Needs milk circuit cleaner, coffee oil tablets, and lubing of the brew group once a month
- Needs decalcification every few months (usage dependent)
- Needs a service every 18 months, but I have heard it's better to service after every second decalc.

Cleaning and maintenance aside, it's pretty straight forward to use. Pop in milk carafe (if cappuccino's are your thing), push cappuccino button, wait for goodness.