Please help this Linux NOOB

Fyson

Hi everyone.

I've got a laptop that has been running Windows 7 for the past 2 years but due to the fact that it needs to be permanently on and since it is Windows, I need to restart it about once a month. Until i forget and it in turn gets dead slow and stops doing what it is supposed to be doing.

Which is why I thought its high time I turn to Linux.
I downloaded Ubuntu and installed the 64bit version on the crappy old laptop. (minimum recommended specs)

BUT, i have a problem. I have no Linux experience and whilst I am good with windows it seems theres a big gap between them.

I have a TP-Link EAP220 Access Point that basically provides WIFI for my clients.
The control software is available for Windows and Linux and i'm familiar with it on windows.
But i can't get it to work on linux.

I've downloaded the linux version on my Windows pc and transferred it over on flash drive, copied it to the laptop and basically spent the entire morning on how to install the darn thing. Why double clicking to install is not available on linux i have no idea.

Through a LOT of googling i've managed to figure out I had right click>properties>permissions etc and then I spent a few hours more to figure out how the hell terminal worked so I can install it through sudo yaddayaddayadda.

Its installed. Great. It said its installed correctly and will start it on the next boot.
BUT, underneath it, it said it failed to launch or something to that effect, I should have made a note or at the very least taken a picture of it but NNOOOO, i just restarted.

Starting up again and theres no hint that anything was even installed. so I was about to install the darn thing again when I noticed the directory it is going to install to already had a TPLink folder in it, so I opened that up and lo and behold there it is installed. BUT NOW - HOW THE HELL DO I OPEN IT??