Reccomendation on good web ui coding courses or books

crudler

Hi,

I am a pretty decent back end web dev especially in asp.net webforms and mvc. Strong grasp of wcf as well.
The area I really fall short on is the client side ui. Graphic designer can make me a nice design, css etc but the client side UI is becoming more and more important. There is a wealth of clientside frameworks out there - Bootstrap, Backbone, AngularJS.

Can anyone who was in a similar position to me recommend a decent course to fastrack the process. Something with a .net flavor is ideal, but I'm flexible.

Thanks

shauntir

To be honest, I'm a developer as well. Not much into graphic design. However, I've bootstrap framework and it makes me look like a pro UI dev. Remember though, I do have a good understanding of CSS and HTML that allows me to use the framework as need be.

I just used w3 schools to learn all the "design" side of things as need be. Remember though, there is a difference between graphic design and web/interface design. For me, just creating little projects helped.

crudler

truethat. bit im not just talking about making a site look slick (bootstrap nice for that btw), I mean in terms of rich UX, and getting the most out of ajax to make a single page app as effective and interactive as possible.

like the very popular backbone todo example
http://documentcloud.github.io/backbone/examples/todos/index.html

is just one example of an interactive framework design.
but "you dont know what you dont know" so I am looking for a good UI overview that goes beyond the basics of what w3c have, and out of the scope of graphic design

btw have u seen how rich the atlassian interface is....?

Last edited:

shauntir

Ah, I see what you need. Plural Sight is my favourite place for getting up to speed with things quickly: courses.

The library is huge. Look under Javascript and you will find what you are looking for. Use the free 200 minutes trial to learn backbone js perhaps.

_kabal_