Running ethernet cables through the house

Arex

Hi All,

I am stuck in a small dilemma, I have Fibre installed and connected to the router which is situated at the middle of our lounge area and I'm looking to run an ethernet cable from the router to the study where my desktop PC is. I've attached a very terribly drawn floor diagram so everyone can understand.

I am looking to run the cables around the edge of the ceiling with PVC cable trunking and double sided tape. There are no doors in between the rooms (just a small arch by the study). I cannot use nails as I do not own the property. There are also no windows in the lounge.

The other option would be to run it through the roof as above the router there is a small hole that other cables go through and by the study there is what seems to be a vent. I am not confident I could do this myself but it may be more cost effective.

What would you guys suggest? Any tips are appreciated as it is my first time doing this. The length from the router to the study is approximately 10m - 15m

Attachments

Meelperd

double sided tape
Definitely NOT!

Ethernet-over-power
How cool is this?

I am not confident I could do this myself
You can do it! I's super easy:
  1. If you can get into the roof and there is sufficient space to walk around safely, try this option first.
  2. If you choose to go along the wall, use a glue gun instead. https://www.builders.co.za/Tools/Power-Tools/Hobby-Mini-Power-Tools/Rapid-EG212-Handy-Glue-Gun/p/000000000000467090

Neuk_

Expert Member
I have run all my ethernet cabling in the roof, with the exception of some cabling outside for our CCTv cameras.

Neuk_

Expert Member
like wise
And even then, two of the cameras I planned for when we were renovating so their cabling runs in conduit through walls and then in lip channel in the garage, the other two I didn't plan for so they have some cabling run on the top of one garage wall and our external wall.

Arex