Satrix 40 growth

mbza

Recently I decided to start investing some of my disposable income, but I’m still a newbie when it comes to investing. I’ve only heard good things about the Satrix 40 so that convinced me to invest my max TFSA contribution in it in the last tax year (through EasyEquities).

Now it’s been almost 3 months and the growth has been up and down. Currently my investment has grown 1.53% from my original contribution, but it was ~6% at some point. Now, I realise that the nature of these investments is inherently volatile and that’s fine. However on EE it shows the historical returns of the Satrix 40 and apparently it’s -2.04% over the last year and +5.67% over the last 4 years. These numbers are quite underwhelming given what I’ve read about the fund and its projections. That, or I don’t understand how the numbers work. It seems that a fixed deposit would give much better returns.

I‘m ready to invest more money but I’m hesitant about putting it in the Satrix 40 again if after 4 years the growth is less than 6%. Once again, I know that growth is not linear but I would think that over a 4 year period things would tend towards a better rate. Note, this is intended to be a long term investment (possibly for retirement).

So I guess I’m just looking for reassurance that putting my money in the Satrix 40 through EE is a good choice, and that other people are doing the same.

Last edited:

R13...

Honorary Master
You're not supposed to be looking at it that short term. In general, equities beat most other asset types over the long term, which is how you should be looking at it. The past few weeks have unfortunately seen very poor returns locally due to the economy.

smc

There are a whole host of considerations to what's best to invest in. E.g, you mention a fixed deposit - tax, depending on what you individual situation is, would usually be higher on interest income than on the mix of capital gains and dividend income that you get from equities.