PsyWulf
Honorary Master
- Joined
- Nov 22, 2006
- Messages
- 20,358
- Reaction score
- 16,003
Scammers on Second-hand vehicle sites
Hi guys,just wanted to post this thread to show how bad the quality of scams sometimes can be
Saw an Advert on Automart for a Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade at an insanely low price,think it was 27k so the first alarm bells were going but I decided to see how far it'll go. Posted a response to the add and got a Mail quote below
Sounds totally legit!! So I obviously said i'm interested
Next mail
Number is definitely cameroon,and the photos attached to the mail are quite pretty,but the price is even lower now than listed! What a bargain
Now when you do deals like this you must verify the legitimacy of the photos,so I asked for a new photo with today's newspaper and the date visible and I got the following
Looks legit! But wait...something is iffy with the date,better check this first
I log on to http://fotoforensics.com/ and upload the file
Results can be seen here http://fotoforensics.com/analysis.php?id=84c4c312464d0a67c6ed0e174fdafde366707079.94012
This site uses ELA to help determine if an image was edited,a tutorial can be viewed here http://fotoforensics.com/sample-ela.php
But basically,when it does the ELA check,we're looking for any areas that are vastly different ( we're talking an aura of jitter you can spot a mile away )
Below the ELA image
Oops,seems the date was added in posthumously!
I emailed and asked for a non-faked image,and attached the ELA image
Unfortunately their responses have gone quiet now,guess the bike isn't mine
*Extra note,the ads have been removed from the site since yesterday
Hi guys,just wanted to post this thread to show how bad the quality of scams sometimes can be
Saw an Advert on Automart for a Honda CBR1000RR Fireblade at an insanely low price,think it was 27k so the first alarm bells were going but I decided to see how far it'll go. Posted a response to the add and got a Mail quote below
Hello ,
Thank you for your interest in buying my 2010 Honda cbr1000rr motorcycle .
The motorcycle is located in ( Douala-CAMEROON ) right now and has
Cameroon papers . to tell you about myself , I am 29 years expecting
my first baby soon and my husband has already booked a new car for me
as i put to birth as a new present and that is why the
motorcycle is a bit cheap . So all that I want to do now is to sell
the motorcycle at this price , because I need to sell it fast ( for he
already made a deposit to buy me a car ) . The title is clean and you
will have absolutely no problems with the motorcycle . I will tell you
a few words about the motorcycle.
My 2010 Honda cbr1000rr motorcycle with manual transmission
is in immaculate condition , 6,180 miles , rust free , no scratch and
hasn't been
involved in any accident . The motor bike runs very well . The
motorcycle looks great . This motorcycle needs nothing , the title is
clear , it is not a salvage one . I want this transaction to go
smoothly enough as I am caught in the middle of some very important
events and have little time at my disposal . The motorcycle is like
new , in perfect conditions , accident free , no scratches, no special
marks , no need for additional repairs what so ever . a genuine road
runner ready to be yours , but only if you shall understand and you
won't make me loose time as it has already happened to me .
The price is R15,000 and this is my last price. I will take in
consideration only those buyers who are
really interested in buying the motorcycle , to be sure that I don't
waste my time with endless discussions . This way , I shall be assured
of the serious intentions .
So if you are interested please email me back for next step
Sounds totally legit!! So I obviously said i'm interested
Next mail
As i said in the previous letter, the motorcycle is
presently in Cameroon and will have to come by cargo plane from Douala
cargo (international cargo transport) . Am presently in Cameroon now
but originally from the US . the bike was
bought in USA brand new. My husband in presently working here in
Cameroon
the motorcycle is in a very good condition and has not experience any
accident . our business will be legalese by the Cameroon Ministry of
Commerce by preparing a sales contract which we are going to sign .
The price of motorcycle is R15,000 including all the shipping costs ,
so you won't have to pay any extra charges .
Here is what we will do : we will use cargo delivery as an escrow
service , this is because they are the best and will both protect the
two of us in preparing and signing of a sales contract .
you make a deposit of 50% which is ( R7500 ) of the price
of the motorcycle in the shipping company's account ( they hold the
money until you receive the motorcycle . so will be the shipping order .
I send the motorcycle over with the owner's manual , 2 sets of keys, a
service record ,and of course the bill of sale authorized and signed by
me. they will offer a 5 days period from the day you receive the
motorcycle from the
delivery agent , you can inspect it , take it to your mechanic to check it
out , drive it . and then you confirm it to the delivery agency so that
they can start paying me and then you send them the balance of 50% .
I can assure you that the motorcycle is in perfect condition as described .
you can return it at my expense for a full refund of your money if
the motorcycle is bad .
NOTE: The deposit is refundable , and is just a security measure ,
to make sure that you are serious , and that I am not going to
ship the motorcycle , and loose time and money .
So if you are interested to go ahead and get the motorcycle ,
please send me the following details :
your full names
your city
house address
nearest airport
phone number
your post code
i will use the information to register with the cargo delivery
company ! After that , they will contact you explaining all the
details regarding the signing of the sales contract and payment of
the 50% deposit in order to proceed with the delivery .
I look forward to hearing from you .
Here is my mobile phone number
+23755771580
Best Regards
Hannah
Number is definitely cameroon,and the photos attached to the mail are quite pretty,but the price is even lower now than listed! What a bargain
Now when you do deals like this you must verify the legitimacy of the photos,so I asked for a new photo with today's newspaper and the date visible and I got the following
that was taken yesterday
Looks legit! But wait...something is iffy with the date,better check this first
I log on to http://fotoforensics.com/ and upload the file
Results can be seen here http://fotoforensics.com/analysis.php?id=84c4c312464d0a67c6ed0e174fdafde366707079.94012
This site uses ELA to help determine if an image was edited,a tutorial can be viewed here http://fotoforensics.com/sample-ela.php
But basically,when it does the ELA check,we're looking for any areas that are vastly different ( we're talking an aura of jitter you can spot a mile away )
Below the ELA image
Oops,seems the date was added in posthumously!
I emailed and asked for a non-faked image,and attached the ELA image
Unfortunately their responses have gone quiet now,guess the bike isn't mine
*Extra note,the ads have been removed from the site since yesterday
Last edited: