Smart home starting out - new build

macbeth

in the planning stages of a new build. Want to plan as much smart home tech as budget allows.
Thinking of light switches rather than bulbs, but would consider all advice before diving in.
Have Alexa in the house (several echos, echo dots) so would want them compatible?
Has anyone looked at importing from overseas because local prices look verrrrry steep.
Thoughts

powermzii

Expert Member
thanks. reasoning? Explain....I'm a bit of a rookie here
is wifi not reliable?
For things like TVs, computers,gaming consoles etc its best to use cable than wifi - wifi can be finicky at the best of times. All your IoT devices (switches, bulbs, etc) will be on wifi but they generally dont use a lot of bandwith and are mostly on the 2.4ghz while your faster phones etc would be on the 5ghz frequecy

Messugga

Honorary Master
thanks. reasoning? Explain....I'm a bit of a rookie here
is wifi not reliable?
No, WIFI is subject to interference.

You can do a hell of a lot of home automation-related comms over CAT5e/CAT6, be this simple IO switching or ethernet comms.

macbeth

thanks. so the ethernet will then be for the other automation devices, not lights, and for the other tech that uses them?

Gielie01

Read up on the forum, those that do import use banggood, ive had great resultsusing them.
Starting out can be messy, lots to consider. When it comes to light switches, my end game was always to keep the wife happy, she isnt a smart tech fan and prefers to have some form of mechanical feedback. Myself, ive never found a touch switch I like, so the compromise was easy, all of my light switches use Sonoff mini's and mostly look and function as normal, some have "special features". Redundancy is important, all my devices are flashed with ESPHome, so my devices function without internet, and even stay functional if my network or server is down (it happens when you dont expect it)