TelkomSA VoWifi Issues

rudderz243

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
4
Hey everyone, I apologize if this has been asked a thousand times, but I am having issues with Telkom and my Wifi Calling service.

I had a Huawei P8 Lite on Vodacom, and my VoWiFi and VoLTE worked perfectly. I then switched to TelkomSA, and both services continued working perfectly.

Everything went downhill when I switched to my iPhone 6S. The option for Wifi Calling just doesn't appear with the Telkom SIM. For curiosity sake, I tried my old Vodacom SIM in the phone, and Wifi Calling worked perfectly.

I tried Googling around, and I got loads of mixed answers. Some told me the iPhone 6S isn't supported for Wifi Calling, which I don't understand since it works perfectly on Vodacom, and others said that Telkom doesn't support Wifi Calling on prepaid customers, which I also don't understand since it worked perfectly on my old phone.

Any help would be appreciated, and I can provide more info if needed.
 

rudderz243

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
4
The fact that you had VoLTE and VoWIFI working is news to me.

Telkom pushed updates to their routers B525 and B618 to enable VoLTE. I have a Samsung S10,S8 and a Huawei P30 lite and NEVER saw VoWIFI or VoLTE.
I guess I just happened to get lucky to have it work for a while. Thanks for the input though, just glad I'm not the only one with issues.

Here's to hoping something gets done, but for now it's a long wait. Their tech support line don't even know what it is, and referred me to the Apple store which for obvious reasons won't help.

Cheers
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
142
Lucky you got VoLTE and VoWiFi working. Had a live chat session with Telkom and got told to visit a Telkom store to have it activated.

Went there and well, they didn't have a clue really (https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/telkom-volte-vowifi.1047881/)

Really wish they could get their act together and get this working for everyone. Telkom signal is quite bad in my office, but we've got wifi
 

Sayf777

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
1,035
Its worked on a P30 Lite for me recently. Will test again tomorrow. Both VoLTE VoWifi.
 

Sayf777

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2013
Messages
1,035
Please tell me how you did it? Did you need to activate anything in store?
It's still working.
No, I escalated it multiple times over at least 2-3 months until one day it worked. The last time I escalated my escalation it was left open for quite a while, when I saw it was working I quickly phoned and told them to mark the case as closed.
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
142
It's still working.
No, I escalated it multiple times over at least 2-3 months until one day it worked. The last time I escalated my escalation it was left open for quite a while, when I saw it was working I quickly phoned and told them to mark the case as closed.
If you can, are you on a spesific contract? As I was told by Telkom staff before that I need an LTE Bundle for VoLTE etc.
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
142
I think that's nonsense but I am on a freeme contract.
Thought so too. I'm also on the FreeMe Contract.

Got told that you need LTE bundle for VoLTE and WiFi calling is already that (aka WhatsApp calling, Viber Calling over wifi) :face_palm:

Chatting with Terrick, Telkom Rep on the forum. Let's see what happens. Will update with any news
 

Speedster

Executive Member
Joined
May 2, 2006
Messages
8,066
Thought so too. I'm also on the FreeMe Contract.

Got told that you need LTE bundle for VoLTE and WiFi calling is already that (aka WhatsApp calling, Viber Calling over wifi) :face_palm:

Chatting with Terrick, Telkom Rep on the forum. Let's see what happens. Will update with any news
Please keep us updated. I'd like to have mine activated too
 

grantduke

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
142
Good News Guys!

Voice over LTE
725210

Voice of WiFi
725212

I'd recommend messaging TelkomSA rep on the forum (Terrick) for assistance. It seems like he had to escalate or get someone from inside Telkom to activate. I also received an SMS afterward.
 

under_sky

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,208
Thought so too. I'm also on the FreeMe Contract.

Got told that you need LTE bundle for VoLTE and WiFi calling is already that (aka WhatsApp calling, Viber Calling over wifi) :face_palm:

Chatting with Terrick, Telkom Rep on the forum. Let's see what happens. Will update with any news
Cant seem to find this Terrick please post his page or something here or tag him
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,893
Wow never seen VoLTE or VoWIFI on Telkom before. I have a S8, S10, Huawei b525 and B618 all with VoLTE but none of my simcards have it enabled. Contract and prepaid...
 
Top