ShadowRider

Hi all

I've been an Oceanhost customer for roughly a year or more. Last year a few friends and I decided to stop using Gameservers.com and host with a VPS.

First off let me also add that I have multiple VPSs with DigitalOcean and two JHB VPSs with Oceanhost. I have categorically never had support or technical trouble with my DigitalOcean Droplets and on the odd occasion I have used DigitalOcean's support they have been friendly and helped me out (Understanding that I'm a developer and a reasonably good system admin, but my knowledge is limited.) Lets also remember that while DO is far larger than Oceanhost both are consumer facing and you don't have to be a company to get a VPS from either.

After reading up and checking ISPs out, we eventually found Oceanhost. Their offerings back then were brilliant almost half the price of the ISPs and offering far more. We decided to give them a go with their 7-Day trial and things went very well. We got Minecraft up and running with McMyAdmin and a Teamspeak 3 servers, we were also very happy with their support (It reminded me a little of Site5.com) always friendly and willing to go just that extra mile even if technically they did not need to.

However this is where the honeymoon ended:

1st issue: OceanHost OnApp Environment Migration

Apparently OceanHost were having major issues with OnApp and though we had only experienced very minor outages due to routing issues, we were asked to move over to a new server, a few months after getting the OH VPS. I would not have brought this up, however, the method they requested us to migrate server was either rsync the old server to the new or re-install everything. Both had their pros and cons but ultimately it was a pain. The only good was that Oceanhost gave us that month for free.

2nd issue: OceanHost VPS sold to OpenByte