What is your current Wi-Fi setup?

Jamie McKane

MyBroadband Journalist
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
4,905
What Wi-Fi configuration do you have at home (repeaters, dual-band routers, mesh system, etc.)?
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
7,932
B618 wired into a TP-Link Archer AC2300. 618 just used to connect to RAIN cos it's ****, TP-Link does all the routing etc.
 

Sinbad

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
67,490
Single unifi ap lite, cloud key and usg connected together via a Mikrotik and a couple of cheap gigabit switches for distribution. Unifi-managed guest hotspot for the BnB tenants.
 
Last edited:

irBosOtter

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
2,339
Unifi AP AC LR plugged straight into a fortigate firewall, port on firewall setup as trunk port, AP management IP on own vlan, then main SSID on another vlan and "guest" SSID on another vlan, don't use the Guest feature of the Unifi software, have more security if everything is controlled by firewall rules on the fortigate.
 

OCP

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
3,494
ADSL Line --> NetGear Router(setup as modem) --> Mikrotik Router --> Gigabit Switch --> 4x Ubiquity Unifi AP LR

Waiting for fibre to replace ADSL :)
 

Hemi300c

Honorary Master
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
20,467
TP-LINK TL-WR941HP 450Mbps
Bought one of these to try sort out my fibre issue.
It's a monster and seems great.

No extenders etc required.
 

isie

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 16, 2010
Messages
11,143
Totolink ND300 ADSL router to a TP link AV5004010 powerline extender connected to a AV5004020 to duplicate the wifi.

not a fan of wifi repeaters
 

Xzib1t

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
3,448
2 UBNT APs and a Mikrotik RB2011, was a mission to run the ethernet cables but well worth it in the end.
 

bigboy529

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
2,769
TP-Link Archer D9 for most of the routing and dual band wifi in one half of the house.
TP-Link Archer C5 connected to the D9 via CAT5e for dual band wifi in the other half of the house.
B618 wired to the D9 for internet.
Both the D9 and C5 also have a couple of things wired directly to them.
 

OCP

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
3,494
2 UBNT APs and a Mikrotik RB2011, was a mission to run the ethernet cables but well worth it in the end.
+1

I have an old house (40+ years) with very dense walls so needed to run a few 100m of cable for the 4 Unifi AP's.
The handover between the AP's is brilliant; as is the ability to block certain devices during homework time ;-)
 

Nithan15

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2016
Messages
1,589
Fibre CPE---> TPLink Archer D50-----> Gigabit switch------>TPLink W9980 upstairs for WIFI
(wired Devices connect at switch)
 
Last edited:

agentrfr

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2008
Messages
4,709
I have a single ASUS RT-N12HP B1 in the roof. Apple sheeple in the house have an airport with 4 airport expresses in mesh mode, however, my single proper router in the roof way out-performs them. No dead zones anywhere in the house or garage, get signal all the way out the driveway to the stop sign. It is fantastic!
 

atomcrusher

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
4,208
AC 750 WiFi DSL Modem Router Model D6000

When at home our mobile devices (2 x Android phones Plus 2 x 10" Android Tablets) are connected to internet (Telkom ISP)
We have a large house, one level, and get good connectivity through out our home, and out on our stoep.
We have an "up to 10Mbps) Telcom connection.
 
Top