Wifi light switches

Joeboy69

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2013
Messages
1,249
Thanks
Mine just started working ok.
Must really move them off the server and run a raspberry pi.
Just not reliable enough for me.
Is this complicated to do if the RPi is running Kodi at the moment for streaming purposes?
 

Dolby

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
26,963
Keep in mind you'll require a neutral the wall for it to work. Most houses don't have - I was lucky enough to have though. I installed a Sonoff Basic behind my light switch and left the switch on. You can operate the switch manually by selecting your Power On State to on - but not the most elegant solution.

[video=youtube;giBpx7xZdzQ]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giBpx7xZdzQ[/video]
 

Aardvark

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
353
Keep in mind you'll require a neutral the wall for it to work. Most houses don't have - I was lucky enough to have though. I installed a Sonoff Basic behind my light switch and left the switch on. You can operate the switch manually by selecting your Power On State to on - but not the most elegant solution.

[video=youtube;giBpx7xZdzQ]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=giBpx7xZdzQ[/video]
Playing up again for me. Google Home controls it but not the app.
 

Aardvark

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
353
Playing up again for me. Google Home controls it but not the app.
Another idea is to replace the switch with a bell press type switch and wire it across the sonoff contacts.
Testing that now and it seems to work ok.
 

Aardvark

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
353
Still having sonoff problems.
If I toggle them from the switch I get the notification of a state change. The google home is able to controll them. The app also displays the changed state but I am unable to change them from the app.
 

Sinbad

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
65,697
Still having sonoff problems.
If I toggle them from the switch I get the notification of a state change. The google home is able to controll them. The app also displays the changed state but I am unable to change them from the app.
Same. I've pretty much decided I'm going to reflash and go openHAB
 

richjdavies

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
606
I actually just had that stopped working.
I can't imagine anything more annoying than a light switch that occasionally doesn't work. Give me an old fashioned bit of copper any day! Wifi light switches... why!!!
 

Dolby

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
26,963
I can't imagine anything more annoying than a light switch that occasionally doesn't work. Give me an old fashioned bit of copper any day! Wifi light switches... why!!!
In fairness - it's electronic and that's the nature of anything electronic or mechanical - they break eventually. Radios, TVs, car, phones etc. This was the first I've had of 400+ units.

I also think the benefit of them being 'smart' outweighs the small chance is breaks
 
Top