Windows 10 Home Edition keep freezing

oscarlets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
371
Hi

I bought hp i3 from game last year. it came with Windows 10 Home Edition but lately I can't work on Microsoft office and open multiple tabs in either edge, chrome or firefox. It will freeze and slow down my work.

What must I do? Everything is up to date. Even did AVG performance thing but I still can't open multiple windows without experiencing slow down. Irritating slow down.


Please advice.

Many thanks
 

LazyLion

King of de Jungle
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
101,855
What do you see when you open the Performance tab under Task Manager? Is the CPU spiking? Or the RAM being used up?
 

oscarlets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
371
What do you see when you open the Performance tab under Task Manager? Is the CPU spiking? Or the RAM being used up?
I only see windows I have opened. Like now, I see adobe, edge, avg interface, tunein.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,563
After checking performance as suggested let us know how you log on to your PC. Are you using a MS account to log on?

There have been quite few reports about problems and issues with MS servers since about the 2nd week of February.
 

oscarlets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
371
After checking performance as suggested let us know how you log on to your PC. Are you using a MS account to log on?

There have been quite few reports about problems and issues with MS servers since about the 2nd week of February.
Yes I use Microsoft account to log in. And yes last week I couldn't log in because sth went wrong and I was asked to use my Microsoft account to log in. Usually I used pin.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,563
Yes I use Microsoft account to log in. And yes last week I couldn't log in because sth went wrong and I was asked to use my Microsoft account to log in. Usually I used pin.
I advise you to switch to a local account instead. And you can still use the pin you have set. The PC will stop trying to synchronise with various MS servers every time you log on and you can at least reduce some of the background traffic. It gives you slightly more control over what is going on, and you can always log on with your MS account when you really need to, which is not very often.
 
Last edited:

oscarlets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2012
Messages
371
I advise you to switch to a local account instead. And you can still use the pin you have set. The PC will stop trying to synchronise with various MS servers every time you log on and you can at least reduce some of the background traffic. It gives you more slightly control over what is going on, and you can always log on with your MS account when you really need to, which is not very often.
Wow! I did that and the computer responds quick now. I just click and bang things open quick now. Hehe thank you very much. It was driving me crazy.

But I think I must get Windows 10 Pro.

Is there anywhere I can get it for way less than Microsoft R1999?
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,563
Wow! I did that and the computer responds quick now. I just click and bang things open quick now. Hehe thank you very much. It was driving me crazy.

But I think I must get Windows 10 Pro.

Is there anywhere I can get it for way less than Microsoft R1999?
Can't help you with the price query. Just check through your update settings to make sure you will become aware of updates when they become available and then log in to your MS account if necessary when it suits you.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,563
Avast free virus scan, if that finds nothing, format.
Not sure why you believe that is a cure for the problem OP has?

But then, by default, the cure all for all things to do with computers is a restart/reboot and/or a reformat.
 

saturnz

Honorary Master
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
11,490
I installed win10 on three of my machines last year.


My primary machine, which I use for gaming, kept on giving me BSOD after the installation.


After 8 months of troubleshooting I finally gave up and went back to win7, my other two machines funnily enough never had any BSOD.
 
Top