Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: Telkom Mobile USSD codes & service numbers - 8ta account information

  1. #1
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    JHB | South Africa
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Telkom Mobile USSD codes & service numbers - 8ta account information

    Telkom Mobile Account menu
    Dial *180# / *140#/ *147#

    1) Bundle Purchases (DATA/SMS/MMS Bundles)
    2) Unlimited VASs (Unlimited Services eg. Call to Landline)
    3) Transfer Airtime
    4) Blackberry (Purchase BIS Services)
    5) Device Settings
    6) Tariff Change
    7) FREE calls Promo

    **Note that not all options maybe available to all customers
    ***This menu may change per package.
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 17-07-2014 at 08:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    JHB | South Africa
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Other useful codes
    __________________________________________________ ________________

    DATA SETTINGS

    SMS the make followed by the model to 185
    eg Nokia C5
    __________________________________________________ ________________

    ACCOUNT BALANCE

    Dial *188# / *100# / *101#

    __________________________________________________ ________________

    RECHARGE PRE-PAID AIRTIME

    *188* pin #
    __________________________________________________ _______________

    PLEASE CALL ME

    *140* number #

    *140# Please Call Me Settings

    __________________________________________________ _______________

    *1# | Your Cell number (Works on Home Network and Telkom Mobile Simcards)

    __________________________________________________ _______________

    *2# | Your IMSI (Works on Home Network and Telkom Mobile Simcards)
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 17-07-2014 at 08:03 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster RichardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg/Jozzi South Africa
    Posts
    11,518

    Default

    Will a moderator please make this sticky

    Very useful information Now let the mods look after 8ta / Heita - also I think they should change the Title from Telkom 8ta

  4. #4
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    JHB | South Africa
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yeah i posted internet settings and a speedtest thread that should be made a sticky

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks, *1# not working for me.
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  6. #6
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,660

    Default

    A friend of mine loaned me an 8.ta SIM for testing, it has been RICA'd but hasn't been made non-roaming yet.

    When I try and check the balance...
    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Account Balance - *188#
    I get the following:
    Your operation has failed, please contact customer care.
    Does this just mean there is no airtime?

    Neither of the following codes return a response:
    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Your Cell number - *1#

    Your IMSI - *2#

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Durban
    Posts
    582

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 8ta View Post
    Try sending a please call me.
    In the cases where you need your own number from your own phone, you generally don't have a secondary phone lying around.

    *2# works for me, but *1# doesn't.

  9. #9

    Default

    Edited.
    Last edited by dabbler; 03-11-2011 at 05:21 PM.

  10. #10
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,660

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reelix View Post
    In the cases where you need your own number from your own phone, you generally don't have a secondary phone lying around.
    Agreed, please take note 8ta, an MSISDN query USSD code is very useful.
    *2# works for me, but *1# doesn't.
    *2# worked for me yesterday, *1# still not working for me. Has anyone get a response from *1# ? SUPERMAN89?

  11. #11
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Durban
    Posts
    582

    Default

    *1# has recently started working for me. It only seems to work if you're active on their 2/1GB Data bundle special

  12. #12
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    JHB | South Africa
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Agreed, please take note 8ta, an MSISDN query USSD code is very useful.

    *2# worked for me yesterday, *1# still not working for me. Has anyone get a response from *1# ? SUPERMAN89?
    Sorry for the delay. The codes work if you using 8.ta on their home network.

    P.S I updated the information above also
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 03-09-2011 at 02:34 PM.

  13. #13

    Default

    OK so I have the 10Gig + the 10Gig Midnight Surfer Option. *188# resulted in one SMS to me:

    "Name:
    Number: +2781188
    Content:
    You have used 8374 MB and have 1866 MB available. 1866 MB will expire on 30/09/2011.
    Time: 05/09/2011 19:53:03"

    Since this is early evening, I presume this applies only to the 'regular' 10 gigs and not the midnight surfer. Couple of questions:

    1) How do I get my midnight surfer balance? Only after midnight?
    2) Is there any way to hard-cap my service? I _really_ don't want to pay out-of-bundle rates.

  14. #14
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,660

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Sorry for the delay. The codes work if you using 8.ta on their home network.
    Confirming that *1# is now working for me since my prepaid SIM was provisioned for the 8ta network.

  15. #15
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    JHB | South Africa
    Posts
    1,383
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Confirming that *1# is now working for me since my prepaid SIM was provisioned for the 8ta network.
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 26-10-2012 at 09:56 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Cell C account info - USSD menu number and SMS short codes
    By jes in forum Cell C Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 31-03-2017, 07:47 AM
  2. Vodacom USSD service numbers - Vodacom account information
    By jes in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-07-2016, 06:13 PM
  3. MTN USSD service numbers - MTN account information
    By jes in forum MTN Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, HSUPA, 3G, EDGE and BIS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-01-2016, 03:25 PM
  4. Vodacom SMS codes - Vodacom account information short codes
    By jes in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-01-2014, 09:06 PM
  5. How to implement USSD prepaid account balance service ?
    By darius2 in forum Fixed Broadband
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-02-2009, 10:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •