Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42

Thread: Telkom Mobile USSD codes & service numbers - 8ta account information

  1. #1
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,385
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Telkom Mobile USSD codes & service numbers - 8ta account information

    Telkom Mobile Account menu
    Dial *180# / *140#/ *147#

    1) Bundle Purchases (DATA/SMS/MMS Bundles)
    2) Unlimited VASs (Unlimited Services eg. Call to Landline)
    3) Transfer Airtime
    4) Blackberry (Purchase BIS Services)
    5) Device Settings
    6) Tariff Change
    7) FREE calls Promo

    **Note that not all options maybe available to all customers
    ***This menu may change per package.
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 17-07-2014 at 08:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,385
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Other useful codes
    __________________________________________________ ________________

    DATA SETTINGS

    SMS the make followed by the model to 185
    eg Nokia C5
    __________________________________________________ ________________

    ACCOUNT BALANCE

    Dial *188# / *100# / *101#

    __________________________________________________ ________________

    RECHARGE PRE-PAID AIRTIME

    *188* pin #
    __________________________________________________ _______________

    PLEASE CALL ME

    *140* number #

    *140# Please Call Me Settings

    __________________________________________________ _______________

    *1# | Your Cell number (Works on Home Network and Telkom Mobile Simcards)

    __________________________________________________ _______________

    *2# | Your IMSI (Works on Home Network and Telkom Mobile Simcards)
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 17-07-2014 at 08:03 PM.

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster RichardG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg/Jozzi South Africa
    Posts
    11,618
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Will a moderator please make this sticky

    Very useful information Now let the mods look after 8ta / Heita - also I think they should change the Title from Telkom 8ta

  4. #4
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,385
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah i posted internet settings and a speedtest thread that should be made a sticky

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster Park@82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    11,091
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, *1# not working for me.
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  6. #6
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    11,022
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    A friend of mine loaned me an 8.ta SIM for testing, it has been RICA'd but hasn't been made non-roaming yet.

    When I try and check the balance...
    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Account Balance - *188#
    I get the following:
    Your operation has failed, please contact customer care.
    Does this just mean there is no airtime?

    Neither of the following codes return a response:
    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Your Cell number - *1#

    Your IMSI - *2#

  7. #7
    Grandmaster Telkom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2,246
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Try sending a please call me.

  8. #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Durban
    Posts
    594
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 8ta View Post
    Try sending a please call me.
    In the cases where you need your own number from your own phone, you generally don't have a secondary phone lying around.

    *2# works for me, but *1# doesn't.

  9. #9
    Grandmaster dabbler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Durban
    Posts
    2,627
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Edited.
    Last edited by dabbler; 03-11-2011 at 05:21 PM.

  10. #10
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    11,022
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reelix View Post
    In the cases where you need your own number from your own phone, you generally don't have a secondary phone lying around.
    Agreed, please take note 8ta, an MSISDN query USSD code is very useful.
    *2# works for me, but *1# doesn't.
    *2# worked for me yesterday, *1# still not working for me. Has anyone get a response from *1# ? SUPERMAN89?

  11. #11
    Master
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Durban
    Posts
    594
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    *1# has recently started working for me. It only seems to work if you're active on their 2/1GB Data bundle special

  12. #12
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,385
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Agreed, please take note 8ta, an MSISDN query USSD code is very useful.

    *2# worked for me yesterday, *1# still not working for me. Has anyone get a response from *1# ? SUPERMAN89?
    Sorry for the delay. The codes work if you using 8.ta on their home network.

    P.S I updated the information above also
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 03-09-2011 at 02:34 PM.

  13. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    62
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    OK so I have the 10Gig + the 10Gig Midnight Surfer Option. *188# resulted in one SMS to me:

    "Name:
    Number: +2781188
    Content:
    You have used 8374 MB and have 1866 MB available. 1866 MB will expire on 30/09/2011.
    Time: 05/09/2011 19:53:03"

    Since this is early evening, I presume this applies only to the 'regular' 10 gigs and not the midnight surfer. Couple of questions:

    1) How do I get my midnight surfer balance? Only after midnight?
    2) Is there any way to hard-cap my service? I _really_ don't want to pay out-of-bundle rates.

  14. #14
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    11,022
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SUPERMAN89 View Post
    Sorry for the delay. The codes work if you using 8.ta on their home network.
    Confirming that *1# is now working for me since my prepaid SIM was provisioned for the 8ta network.

  15. #15
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    1,385
    Blog Entries
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Confirming that *1# is now working for me since my prepaid SIM was provisioned for the 8ta network.
    Last edited by SUPERMAN89; 26-10-2012 at 09:56 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 05-12-2017, 12:05 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-07-2016, 06:13 PM
  3. MTN USSD service numbers - MTN account information
    By jes in forum MTN Mobile Data
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-01-2016, 03:25 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-01-2014, 09:06 PM
  5. How to implement USSD prepaid account balance service ?
    By darius2 in forum General Broadband Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-02-2009, 10:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •