Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 41 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 606

Thread: HUAWEI B315s LTE router discussion thread.

  1. #1

    Default HUAWEI B315s LTE router discussion thread.

    My exact model is: HUAWEI B315s-936 (from Cell C) if any other models are available locally, please let me know.

    Datasheets:
    https://www.cellc.co.za/cellc/static...uawei-B315.pdf
    http://www.telkom.co.za/today/media/...ricaTelkom.pdf

    Working frequency band:

    LTE
    Band 1/3/40/41
    FDD 2100 MHz/1800 MHz
    TDD 2300MHz/2600 MHz

    UMTS
    Band 1/8 2100 MHz/900 MHz

    GSM
    Band 2/3/5/8 1900 MHz/1800 MHz/850 MHz/900 MHz
    Last edited by [email protected]; 24-03-2016 at 12:09 PM.
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  2. #2

    Default

    Using internal vs external antennas (Bunny Ears that it came with) doesn't seem to be making any difference on mine:

    Using the "Built-in" antenna:
    RSRQ: -4dB
    RSRP: -73dBm
    RSSI: >=-51dBm
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/4778333666.png First test
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/4778352367.png Second test

    External antennas (1&2) :
    RSRQ: -7dB
    RSRP -70dBm
    RSSI: >=-51dBm
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/4778343409.png First test
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/4778348228.png Second test

    Tested on Telkom mobile LTE using a prepaid sim.

    Signal info can be seen on these pages:
    http://192.168.8.1/html/deviceinformation.html

    or
    http://192.168.8.1/api/device/signal

    Quote Originally Posted by MtnUser View Post
    http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...1#post15646808
    Last edited by [email protected]; 27-10-2015 at 04:19 PM.
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  3. #3

    Default

    You guys only look at speed. B593 had a good speed, don't expect anything better from B315. However raw speed doesn't make a good router. No, B593 wasn't. In typical home entertainment you had to use as 'real' router if you wanted to stream Netflix/Hulu/etc...

    I am very pleased that B315 has more refined firmware options comparing to B593, so you don't need another router. Gigabit Ethernet switch connect you directly to media server, you don't need another switch.

    I reccommend B315 to everyone. It supports all SA LTE networks, here is from my location: http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/attachme...0&d=1445776197

    EDIT: I am less impressed after discovering that manual DNS is only possible when router is configured for RJ45 WAN interface. It fooled me during short inspection, as router's LAN interface IP address and DHCP settings is missplaced the WiFi section, so I assumed similar case.
    Last edited by sajunky; 09-11-2015 at 11:55 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sajunky View Post
    You guys only look at speed. B593 had a good speed, don't expect anything better from B315. However raw speed doesn't make a good router. No, B593 wasn't. In typical home entertainment you had to use as 'real' router if you wanted to stream Netflix/Hulu/etc...

    I am very pleased that B315 has more refined firmware options comparing to B593, so you don't need another router. Gigabit Ethernet switch connect you directly to media server, you don't need another switch.

    I reccommend B315 to everyone. It supports all SA LTE networks, here is from my location: http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/attachme...0&d=1445776197
    I don't care about speed much since I am on prepaid. I just thought the external antennas (that it came with) would give better signal translating into better speed & stability.

    I wonder what that "65519" is in your screenshot. Here is mine:
    Name:  Networks.jpg
Views: 30612
Size:  43.8 KB
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    I don't care about speed much since I am on prepaid. I just thought the external antennas (that it came with) would give better signal translating into better speed & stability.

    I wonder what that "65519" is in your screenshot. Here is mine:
    Name:  Networks.jpg
Views: 30612
Size:  43.8 KB
    The same story was with B593, I am not surprised. I don't know why they still supply 'Bunny Ears' with the router. Internal antenna is tuned with precision, it could be highly advanced 'active' type, I don't know, it is very good. I have some external antennas with me will post my findings later.

    BTW, My search indicate that 65519 belongs to iBurst. I could research for available packages, but for one year I have Giga200 from Cell C, I don't need anything else.
    Last edited by sajunky; 01-11-2015 at 07:59 PM.

  6. #6
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4794824695
    sim got activated today and no need for an external antenna.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi all,

    So I received my B315 with Bunny ear Antenna's (Haven't tested without) this week and weirdly enough, I get higher download speeds on 3G than on 4G.

    These are the stats from Speedtests.
    3G - 12.98Mbps D/L & 3.92 Mbps U/L
    4G - 1.22Mbps D/L & 3.72 Mbps U/L

    I called the Telkom CC on 2 occasions. Yesterday I was told that the speed is slow due to my data almost being depleted. The lady that I spoke to today, logged a ticket through to support.

    Have you guy experienced anything similar? Would really appreciate advice.
    Last edited by Desh; 01-11-2015 at 07:42 PM.

  8. #8
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    I'm having trouble setting a SIP (voip) I had a fnbconnect number so I tested it with voice.fnbconnect.co.za and I can dial out but it drops the Internet connection and I can't receive calls.

    On the router setting it keeps saying registering but never says registered. Hopefully someone has had some success and can help help me the right settings.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  9. #9
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    I was able to receive a call this morning but it still drops the internet connection.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  10. #10

    Default

    I don't know, maybe you need unrestricted APN. Network dependent.
    Post details in this thread: http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/forumdisplay.php/115-VOIP

  11. #11
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sajunky View Post
    I don't know, maybe you need unrestricted APN. Network dependent.
    Post details in this thread: http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/forumdisplay.php/115-VOIP
    Thanks.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  12. #12
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    Voip works 100 % incoming and outgoing calls no longer drop the internet connection.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by buyeye View Post
    Voip works 100 % incoming and outgoing calls no longer drop the internet connection.
    What did you do?
    "Why is there something rather than nothing?"
    Gottfried Leibniz

  14. #14
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    What did you do?
    Nothing I just checked all the settings again. Checked the SIP algorithm box in security settings.

    Gonna cancel the land line and spend that R160 on airtime.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  15. #15
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    4,655

    Default

    Turns out I didn't disconnect the land line the voip settings still disconnects the Internet connection.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 41 1234511 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The Huawei E5186 LTE-A discussion thread
    By Azimuth in forum Mobile Broadband
    Replies: 297
    Last Post: 17-10-2017, 08:36 AM
  2. The Huawei B593 LTE discussion thread
    By Azimuth in forum Mobile Broadband
    Replies: 1653
    Last Post: 15-10-2017, 11:49 AM
  3. Starcraft II Mac Discussion Thread
    By fwwwn in forum Apple Mac, iPad and iPhone
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-07-2010, 02:34 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •