Bluefinllama

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
210
So I recently upgraded my line to a 20mbps VDSL line (from 10mbps ADSL), but I just cannot get it working with the VDSL WAN interface. The line currently syncs at 15356/1076 kbps but is using the ADSL WAN interface. To my mind I've set up the VDSL WAN interface correctly, but nada. I've deleted the ADSL WAN interface (the line just drops and doesn't connect) as well as just switching to the VDSL WAN interface (the modem just reverts to the ADSL WAN interface and syncs through that).

I am using a ZyXEL P-2812HNU-F1. VDSL WAN interface settings:

General
Name : VdslWAN1
Type : VDSL
Mode : Routing
WANServiceType : PPPoE
PPPoE Passthrough : No
IPv6/IPv4 Mode: IPv4 Only

VLAN
Enable VLAN : No
Enter 802.1P Priority [0-7] : Blank
Enter 802.1Q VLAN ID [1-4094] : Blank

PPP Infomation
PPPUserName : myusername@axxess
PPPPassword : ****************
Authentication Method : Auto
Use Static IP Address : No
Dial on demand (with idle timeout timer) : No

MTU
MTU : 1492

Routing Feature
NAT Enable : Yes
Address Mapping Enable : No
Address Mapping Set : 1
IGMP Proxy Enable : Yes
Apply as Default Gateway : Yes

DNS Server
Obtain DNS info Automatically : Yes
Use the following Static DNS IP Address : No

6 to 4 Tunnel
6to4 Tunneling : No

So, if you guys can help me in any way it would be greatly appreciated. :crying:
 
Last edited:

Jola

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 22, 2005
Messages
19,654
The Telkom technicians always do this, they don't know how VDSL works and don't have equipment to test it, so they just set the line to fast ADSL.

Contact TelkomZA on MyBB and ask him to change the profile to VDSL.

The above happened to me, as well as to other people that I know.
 

Bluefinllama

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
210
Thanks, I have PM'd TelkomZA with the account info and asked for assistance. I kinda realized the people I spoke to when phoning 10210 wasn't all that clued up.
 

S1ght

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
3,286
In your router settings check what modulation type it is.

Here's mine:

Modulation type G.993.2-B
Actual rate (up) 512 kbps
Actual rate (down) 4096 kbps

When I first upgraded to VDSL I had a similar experience. What they seem to do is chuck you onto ADSL2+ instead of VDSL. That gives you your 15meg sync rate which is the same as what I got.

From wiki:

ADSL2 ITU G.992.3
ITU G.992.3 Annex J
ITU G.992.3 Annex L
ITU G.992.4
ADSL2+ ITU G.992.5
ITU G.992.5 Annex M
VDSL ITU G.993.1
VDSL2 ITU G.993.2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.992.1
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
21,807
The Telkom technicians always do this, they don't know how VDSL works and don't have equipment to test it, so they just set the line to fast ADSL.

Contact TelkomZA on MyBB and ask him to change the profile to VDSL.

The above happened to me, as well as to other people that I know.

+1. Where's the like button.
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
21,807
Thanks, I have PM'd TelkomZA with the account info and asked for assistance. I kinda realized the people I spoke to when phoning 10210 wasn't all that clued up.

Try to contact them on Facebook or Twitter also. The call center people have no clue, the last woman I spoke to there didn't even know about the line speed upgrades that had been going on for the past 3 months.
 

Bluefinllama

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
210
In your router settings check what modulation type it is.

Here's mine:

Modulation type G.993.2-B
Actual rate (up) 512 kbps
Actual rate (down) 4096 kbps

When I first upgraded to VDSL I had a similar experience. What they seem to do is chuck you onto ADSL2+ instead of VDSL. That gives you your 15meg sync rate which is the same as what I got.

From wiki:

ADSL2 ITU G.992.3
ITU G.992.3 Annex J
ITU G.992.3 Annex L
ITU G.992.4
ADSL2+ ITU G.992.5
ITU G.992.5 Annex M
VDSL ITU G.993.1
VDSL2 ITU G.993.2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.992.1

I was on ADSL2+ before since I had a 10mbps line.

For some reason I am unable to change any modulation type settings on this router (I believe it would be automatically setup by the router and choice in interface).


My stats when syncing at 15356/1076 kbps, which is indeed ADSL2+ (able to see this in the log) is:

noise margin upstream: 6 db
noise margin downstream: 24 db
output power upstream: 12 db
output power downstream: 15 db
attenuation upstream: 2 db
attenuation downstream: 6 db
CRC upstream: 0
CRC downstream: 0

Just in case anyone was interested. I'm about ~300m from the dslam.
 

adam_g

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
831
In your router settings check what modulation type it is.

Here's mine:

Modulation type G.993.2-B
Actual rate (up) 512 kbps
Actual rate (down) 4096 kbps

When I first upgraded to VDSL I had a similar experience. What they seem to do is chuck you onto ADSL2+ instead of VDSL. That gives you your 15meg sync rate which is the same as what I got.

From wiki:

ADSL2 ITU G.992.3
ITU G.992.3 Annex J
ITU G.992.3 Annex L
ITU G.992.4
ADSL2+ ITU G.992.5
ITU G.992.5 Annex M
VDSL ITU G.993.1
VDSL2 ITU G.993.2

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G.992.1

How do i check my dsl modulation on netgear i cant find it?
 

Bluefinllama

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
210
And we are off thanx to Charl (TelkomZA). Really great to have someone who knows what they are doing helping out for a change, doubt I'll ever phone 10210 again :p
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
21,807
And we are off thanx to Charl (TelkomZA). Really great to have someone who knows what they are doing helping out for a change, doubt I'll ever phone 10210 again :p

I think Charl does everything at Telkom :D They may as well just fire everyone else.
 

Bluefinllama

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
210
And here is a speedtest:

3273227720.png

And line stats:

noise margin upstream: 36 db
noise margin downstream: 28 db
output power upstream: 12 db
output power downstream: -8 db
attenuation upstream: 0 db
attenuation downstream: 12 db
CRC upstream: 330
CRC downstream: 2765
 

DrJohnZoidberg

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 24, 2006
Messages
21,807
And here is a speedtest:

View attachment 97101

And line stats:

noise margin upstream: 36 db
noise margin downstream: 28 db
output power upstream: 12 db
output power downstream: -8 db
attenuation upstream: 0 db
attenuation downstream: 12 db
CRC upstream: 330
CRC downstream: 2765

Nice. I also got over 19Mbit in the beginning but then about a month on the max speed I could get is around 18.5Mbit no matter what time of the day I tried.

This is about my optimal speed now:

 

TheLaggingShaman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
245
I'm terrified of upgrading to VDSL and then a few months down the line finding the service has degraded. It seems like Telkom will always undersell on bandwidth / oversubscribe exchanges
 

adam_g

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2011
Messages
831
And here is a speedtest:

View attachment 97101

And line stats:

noise margin upstream: 36 db
noise margin downstream: 28 db
output power upstream: 12 db
output power downstream: -8 db
attenuation upstream: 0 db
attenuation downstream: 12 db
CRC upstream: 330
CRC downstream: 2765

Im also on an MSAN I cant afford 20meg tho :( but afrihost says my line is unstable my stats are like yours att 7 snr 37 what do you think?
 
Top