Afrihost Capped DSL Feedback

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
17,239
Experiencing heavy congestion like clock work, just before 4pm every afternoon, till the early morning at our local exchange. Now its affecting our speeds as well. Is there anyone that can look into this issue? It's becoming a regular thing now.

These results from a 20mb VDSL

View attachment 738383


Pinging bras.afrihost.com [155.239.255.250] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=88ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=76ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 155.239.255.250:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 76ms, Maximum = 91ms, Average = 84ms

Definitely looks like it's congestion on the local Telkom/Openserve network. Sadly, there is not much we can do from ourside, as we can only control traffic once it reaches our network :(

Have you considered moving to fibre or fixed LTE?
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
17,239
Getting exact same issue xbxbau5. Also based in EL, 20mb VDSL

Pinging bras.afrihost.com [155.239.255.250] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=83ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=64
Reply from 155.239.255.250: bytes=32 time=93ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 155.239.255.250:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 83ms, Maximum = 96ms, Average = 91ms

View attachment 738419

Net goes to **** in the afternoons and at night now.

Definitely looks pretty awful. If you're seeing latency on the BRAS, this points to congestion in the local area. Sadly, there is not much we can do until Telkom/Openserve upgrades the backhaul. Given that ADSL is being phased out, it may not be a priority for them.

Have you considered moving over to fibre or Fixed LTE?
 

Madhawk

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
16,084
Is Afrihost blocking/throttling filehost https://rapidrar.com/?

At home, when connected to Afrihost I get snail/timeout speeds when I download from RapidRar.

When I bring my laptop to work and connect to Mweb, I get full download speeds.

So it isn't my router and it isn't my laptop.

FYI, I connected to a TELKOM LTE router and I get the slow/timeout speeds too.

So why is Telkom and Afrihost throttling https://rapidrar.com/?
 

Draken

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2009
Messages
294
Ive seen them throttle a couple of the file hosts.

Ive had times where openload goes max speed, and times to goes max, then instantly gets pulled down to sub 200kb/s, aka throttled.
 

Madhawk

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
16,084
Ive seen them throttle a couple of the file hosts.

Ive had times where openload goes max speed, and times to goes max, then instantly gets pulled down to sub 200kb/s, aka throttled.

Seems to be back to normal now. Both on Afrihost and Telkom LTE.

It's the first time I've experienced this.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
17,239
Seems to be back to normal now. Both on Afrihost and Telkom LTE.

It's the first time I've experienced this.

Definitely working normally for me. We did make some changes on our international routing in the last week, it might have affected the routing to this site briefly.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
17,239
Ive seen them throttle a couple of the file hosts.

Ive had times where openload goes max speed, and times to goes max, then instantly gets pulled down to sub 200kb/s, aka throttled.

If you are on a Home Uncapped, we don't throttle or firewall sites. if your usuage is over the threshold, then all traffic would be throttled, regardless of site. This would only happen if there is demand on the network and we need to throttle - which has not happened for a long time. It would never affect a single site.
 

Park@82

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 6, 2008
Messages
12,208
I wonder if there was a international cable break. Telkom/Openserve fibre is also useless at the moment.
 

daveza

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
44,463
It's definitely not just fibre.

I presume fibre and adsl use the same route for international so it shouldn't matter what your local connectivity is.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
19,325
I wonder if there was a international cable break. Telkom/Openserve fibre is also useless at the moment.

Yes WACS is down. That is Openserve main link to eu. So everyone using WACS is down or rerouted to other cable

Afrihost
Axxess
Webafrica
Telkom
Seacom
Liquid Telecom

And anyone that used wacs to London now going via Seacom or ESSY so increased latency to EU West.

If they have enough transit it should not be slow just increased latency.

I think because Afrihost, Axxess, Webafrica and Telkom all use Telklm as transit provider their capacity is being maxed on ESSY.
 

dotcat

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2005
Messages
923
Yes WACS is down. That is Openserve main link to eu. So everyone using WACS is down or rerouted to other cable

Afrihost
Axxess
Webafrica
Telkom
Seacom
Liquid Telecom

And anyone that used wacs to London now going via Seacom or ESSY so increased latency to EU West.

If they have enough transit it should not be slow just increased latency.

I think because Afrihost, Axxess, Webafrica and Telkom all use Telklm as transit provider their capacity is being maxed on ESSY.
Any cheapish LTE providers who dont use this route? Need to reevaluate the backup links I have as since Afrihost switched to Telkom it's all in one basket.
 
Top