Amobia Connection methods

Anthro

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
2,352
a Friend can see Amobia AP from inside his flat.
He can connect to it, and gets an IP - so he pretty much just needs to get a PPOE username / password from them correct ?
They insist he needs some form of repeater / CPE ...
 
Last edited:

Nicholas Marzio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
240
a Friend can see Amobia AP from inside his flat.
He can connect to it, and gets an IP - so he pretty much just needs to get a PPOE username / password from them correct ?
They insist he needs some form of repeater / CPE ...
By AP you mean their wireless link dish? or do they have a Wireless AP in the building?

If it's the wireless link dish then it is on the 5Ghz range and his device can connect to it. Having a CPE would be a better bet so that you have a firewall and DHCP so you can connect more people/devices to the network.
 

Anthro

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
2,352
They have a high site named "Amobia Broadband" on 5ghz band to which he can connect, he has all necessary hardware
We called them and asked "can we get a test account" to make sure everything works nicely.

"No, you need your own access point"..
 

Nicholas Marzio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
240
They have a high site named "Amobia Broadband" on 5ghz band to which he can connect, he has all necessary hardware
We called them and asked "can we get a test account" to make sure everything works nicely.

"No, you need your own access point"..
Okay so they want to connect him to the highpoint with a CPE so that he would have this own internal network with wifi etc. This is what almost ever WISP will do.
 
Last edited:

Anthro

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
2,352
He has all the hardware, yet they insist on him purchasing their equipment... at a premium, I know what a kit costs lol, they have lost a potential client as result.
 

Nicholas Marzio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
240
He has all the hardware, yet they insist on him purchasing their equipment... at a premium, I know what a kit costs lol, they have lost a potential client as result.
Ah, most likely so that they can monitor bandwidth usage etc. That sucks...
 

Nixul

Active Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2010
Messages
81
Amobia is useless and the worse ISP around, stay away. Congestion issues every 3 months, always deny any problems even if you can proof it. The problem is always the customer never with them.
 
Top