Client wants to retain me

Supersoaker

Expert Member
Good evening everybody

A client of mine asked me if I would consider being paid a retainer instead of me invoicing them every time they request my services, he did not give me a figure yet, he just asked me to think about it.

Please keep in mind I am still studying but I foresee majority of it being online at least for this year, although I will limit my hours once they come up with a proposal.

At the moment they aren't that big of a company and their requirements are fairly simple but they are growing steadily even through the pandemic.

For me the deciding factor will be money, I don't really have any overheads aside from fuel which is still costly, its about 26km there and back home again fuel consumption is about 9.1 L/100km = TLDR = it costs me about R100 there and back.

What I offer

• I've built their entire infrastructure from the ground up including their VOIP system, I tend to resolve most issues within the hour.
  • Remote support (I usually respond within 15 minutes - 60 minutes) / Troubleshooting.
  • Majority of their issues would be related to admin/Microsoft Office and email.
  • Advice on anything tech related ie: new devices.
I've look at what people/companies charge per hour for some of these things and my pricing is pretty average.

I think what they're looking for is a techy person who's not a fulltime employee.

I'd love input from the forum as majority of you are in the field.

Thanks

|tera|

Master of Messengers
You would need to check your previous invoices and work done.
Even if the client says X amount, you need to be able to counter with sensibility that the monthly amount is close to it at the very least.

Work may change. You may be needed more or less. So make sure you know what to charge.

Last edited:

RVQ

Expert Member
You would need to check your previous invoices and work done.