Computer Science degree at Unisa

January99

Hi guys! I would like to study a degree in Mathematics and Computer Science with UNISA in 2018. My problem is, I didn't do Maths and Science in matric. I only did them till Grade 10. It wasn't because I hated them or they were difficult. Eish, I got kicked out by a class teacher cause I was very naughty :wtf: I have 8 years experience as an IT Engineer and I have the following certificates, MCITP - Enterprise Administrator, MCITP - Server Administrator, Web Development Bootcamp certificate which had a bit of programming and databases and Microsoft SQL DBA. Am I gonna have to start by studying the low-level qualifications first like I don't know anything?

Urist

Expert Member
Good luck getting admission, think you`ll probably have to do the extended degree without matric math, don`t know if you`ll be able to convince them otherwise with your certificates.
As for the computer related modules, yes you start at the very beginning.

January99

Eish, I'll see if I'll convince them otherwise. Does that mean I'll add 1 more year to a degree that I wanted to complete in 3 years?

cguy

Executive Member
I doubt that you would want to do the first year maths course without first doing the maths bridging courses. Even for someone who did matric maths, the 8 year gap would make it a very steep learning curve.

For the CS course, there will be some repetition of course (I am sure you already know what a variable and a for loop are, etc.), but things should quickly progress from there. I expect that there won't be as much overlap between your experience and the course material as you think.

mr_norris

Expert Member
Hey man,

From here:

Your admission to Unisa is dependent on you meeting the specific admission requirements for your chosen qualification.

A National Senior Certificate (NSC) (Degree endorsement) or equivalent
with at least 50% in the language of teaching and learning, 50% in