Developer position at Amazon Web Services

I'm a Software Development Manager at Amazon Web Services (AWS) in Cape Town. (Long time forum member, but aiming to keep my work profile separate from my personal profile).

My team is in EC2 and specifically we are part of the organisation that owns the customer-facing API layer (for EC2). Our services are responsible for authentication, routing, rate limiting, caching, meta data injection and dependency orchestration for all EC2 API calls. This means we need to build services which operate at extremely high scales and need to be very efficient at processing requests, often in a way which is as generic as possible (to avoid coupling).

We mainly code in Java, but we also own tools written in Scala, Kotlin, Ruby, Python and even Elm. We're interested in good software developers, regardless of their language of choice. Our internal culture is pretty cool (e.g. breakfast talks, hack days, etc.) - at least I think so - and of course there are several opportunities to travel, since we work closely with teams all over the world (but especially Seattle and Washington DC). Should you need to relocate to Cape Town, we'd also take care of your relocation.

I'm looking for multiple developers across the experience spectrum, from junior / intermediate all the way through to senior.

If this sounds interesting to you, please send me a PM with your details and I'll facilitate the process or go explore here https://www.amazon.jobs/en/jobs/781228/senior-software-development-engineer-ec2-api-platform-team or https://www.amazon.jobs/en/jobs/802544/software-development-engineer-ec2-api-platform-team .

netcruiser

Fun game for interviewees at AWS: Wear a tie, it will make them extremely uncomfortable, keep it on. Count how many times they ask you to remove it.

eg2505

Honorary Master
did this before, although for the EC2 support desk, in CPT,