DStv Now only works on official Android TV boxes

backstreetboy

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
13,014
#2
Google-certified media boxes available in South Africa include the Telkom LIT, Mi Box, and Nvidia Shield devices.
Oh really? What brick and mortar store stocks and sells them?
 

Drone 42

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
615
#3
How about supporting the Amazon fire TV stick officially?

The app already works if it is sideloaded.
 

konfab

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 23, 2008
Messages
20,000
#5
Stupidity in action.
The only thing that should concern DSTV should be the fact that users are paying for their subscription.
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
10,224
#8
Meh! No guarantee that a certified device works either. I have a Vodacom supplied device, google certified that will not run the DSTV now app. Every time there is an update, the app stops working and then a protracted process follows to get it to work again. Finally simply abandoned DSTV now as a service.

Much easier and less stressful.
 

Geraldv

Active Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
50
#14
What has the device vendor got to do with them? My subscription is what matters.
Works fine on all computers, so why on selected Android vendors only?
Sounds like under the table dealings here. Monopolizing?
Competition board where are you?
 

Sumen

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2016
Messages
4,661
#15
What has the device vendor got to do with them? My subscription is what matters.
Works fine on all computers, so why on selected Android vendors only?
Sounds like under the table dealings here. Monopolizing?
Competition board where are you?
Netflix does the same thing
 

skusku

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
692
#17
So what does the LIT box cost? Once off vs per month. Struggling to find it on the telkom site.
 

Wimhotep

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
416
#19
I have a MediaBox MBX4K , http://mediabox.co.za/ also started with " Video playback error" after latest update. No solution from the guys at Mediabox as yet. This error is ONLY on the first 8 SuperSport channel's - all the other channel's work fine , including Netflix + Showmax.
 

Attachments

Top