Emigration question. Laptop or Console?

DevonBritton

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
63
Hi guys.

I've got a budget of between R15 - 20k and I need to decide whether to get a decent gaming laptop or perhaps some consoles. The kicker is that I'm emigrating at the end of the year.

Obviously a laptop is much easier to take with, but I'm wondering if anyone has any experience on taking consoles on international flights? Was it a pain or would it be worth investing in an Xbox, PS4 and a switch for the move?

Thanks in advance.
Devon
 

Voicy

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
11,122
Don't even bother with a console. Takes up too much space and risk of breakage isn't worth it. Not to mention customs.

Also, most places worth emigrating to generally have consoles cheap as chips. (Also local power plugs)
 

diabolus

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2005
Messages
6,308
Yea, get the laptop, it is the end of this console generation , people are dumping their consoles on the 2nd hand market for cheap (especially the original xbox/ps4 pre-PRO/Light/Slim). Especially seen this in europe.

That said, i did move across to europe with my xbox, still have it, had no issues with customs (but in hindsight, was unnecessary travel bulk).
 

Sysem

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2009
Messages
1,891
I took my PS4 on an international flight in my carry on luggage. Worked like a charm, but I had already moved all my stuff over and was travelling light on a separate flight, so decided to pack it in. If you have the $$ saved up, can you not buy the console on the other end?
 

DevonBritton

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
63
Thanks guys. Yeah pretty much in line with what I was thinking...just wanted to see if anyone knows something I don't...
 

millennia

Senior Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
759
Something to be aware of if you choose console - PS4 accounts cannot have their region changed after being setup. So if you choose SA, you're stuck with that store even if you're in China...
 

Ancalagon

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
16,969
Just bear in mind that depending on where you go, it could end up bearing irritating if your laptop keyboard is different to the country's default layout. Let's say you move to the UK - they use a different keyboard layout because of the pound symbol (£). Your new laptop won't have that.
 

gregmcc

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 29, 2006
Messages
22,294
Just bear in mind that depending on where you go, it could end up bearing irritating if your laptop keyboard is different to the country's default layout. Let's say you move to the UK - they use a different keyboard layout because of the pound symbol (£). Your new laptop won't have that.
lol. I'm in the UK and still use my keyboard from SA. Confusing as hell, personal computer shift 2 (@), work PC and laptop (UK) it's quotes (Same with $, have just memorised the alt code for pound) :)
 

cerebus

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 5, 2007
Messages
40,893
I brought a laptop with me when I emigrated. It's an Asus with a gtx 1060. I've gotten a huge amount of use from it.
 

Gtx Gaming

Gtx Gaming
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
20,206
Console's are pretty cheap 2nd hand in first world countries.

I would take a laptop and buy an console later.
 

millennia

Senior Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
759
lol. I'm in the UK and still use my keyboard from SA. Confusing as hell, personal computer shift 2 (@), work PC and laptop (UK) it's quotes (Same with $, have just memorised the alt code for pound) :)
same, we bought 2 laptops with us and still use them. Gets confusing as heck after a day at work with a UK keyboard. Why am i putting " in email addresses?! :ROFL:
 

newby_investor

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
2,535
same, we bought 2 laptops with us and still use them. Gets confusing as heck after a day at work with a UK keyboard. Why am i putting " in email addresses?! :ROFL:
You can just set the computer to think it's a different layout. If I type in Russian, I don't need a keyboard with physically printed Russian characters. I just need to remember.*

*Which granted is easier said than done. I'm not very good at it.
 

millennia

Senior Member
Joined
May 12, 2010
Messages
759
You can just set the computer to think it's a different layout. If I type in Russian, I don't need a keyboard with physically printed Russian characters. I just need to remember.*

*Which granted is easier said than done. I'm not very good at it.
Fully aware of that. My brain doesn't appreciate it though :p
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
83,807
Just bear in mind that depending on where you go, it could end up bearing irritating if your laptop keyboard is different to the country's default layout. Let's say you move to the UK - they use a different keyboard layout because of the pound symbol (£). Your new laptop won't have that.
Replacement keyboards are relatively cheap if people are keen to swap them out.
 

DevonBritton

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
63
Thanks everyone!! Your responses and advice are greatly appreciated...

Just to throw a spanner in the works...what's the opinion on getting a Desktop?? I've read that if you take the delicate bits out of the case, package it properly and put it into a decent carry on they should be safe...then I can just buy a new case and screen on that side?
 

VoodooBean

Active Member
Joined
May 17, 2019
Messages
59
You mean Desktop PC components ?

If so I am sure someone mentioned it on your post that PC/Laptops and even consoles are quiet cheaper overseas, so once you are setup and stable then buying the a rig / console in which ever country you go to probably will be the best option.

It is dirt cheap overseas - It is only here in SA do you need a 2nd mortgage to buy a decent rig.

And as for consoles, some consoles are region locked to do a little bit of homework before you take a PAL PS3/4 and head to Aus OR NZL ( I could be wrong )
 

saor

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
23,891
Thanks everyone!! Your responses and advice are greatly appreciated...

Just to throw a spanner in the works...what's the opinion on getting a Desktop?? I've read that if you take the delicate bits out of the case, package it properly and put it into a decent carry on they should be safe...then I can just buy a new case and screen on that side?
Do you really need a new pc right now? Could rather buy abroad after the move. Probably cheaper and no hassle of moving it.
 

DevonBritton

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
63
Do you really need a new pc right now? Could rather buy abroad after the move. Probably cheaper and no hassle of moving it.
So PC's that side are not cheaper than here. From my brief look they're around the same price or a little more expensive. Aside from the fact that when we get there, I forsee my wife needing to dip into my PC fund for bedding or curtains or something like that and I know I won't end up getting anything...thirdly...The money is an insurance payout for my previous gaming PC so right now I have nothing to game on until we leave in December so I'd prefer to get one sooner rather than later.
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
83,807
Just build a new pc and put it in a cheap case, keep the mb & gpu boxes. When you leave take the components with you.
 

DevonBritton

Active Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2015
Messages
63
Just build a new pc and put it in a cheap case, keep the mb & gpu boxes. When you leave take the components with you.
Yup. That's what I ended up deciding to do.

Bought a Ryzen 5 3600 rig with an RTX 2060 6GB OC in it for R3k less than the laptop I had in mind which only has a GTX 1660 in it...
 
Top