Fibre in Complex - HELP

MoozlyBelle

I am a homeowner in a complex in Parklands. I have been pushing our body corporate for the last two years to get fibre installed in the complex but they have been utterly unhelpful and uninterested. Is there anything I can do to by-pass them or legally take the matter to a higher authority?

ld13

Honorary Master
How much interest is there from the other homeowners?

MoozlyBelle

Majority of the other homeowners want fibre and even with this information the body corporate could not be bothered...

Sudo Panic

Look up Fibre installation South Break complex and read the hell I went through with them, they ended up choosing Vodacom which was overpriced. Octotel tried to install there but apparently permission from Telkom was required as they needed to use their ducting system.

ld13

Honorary Master
Majority of the other homeowners want fibre and even with this information the body corporate could not be bothered...
I don't know much of how they are put together, but if the large majority wants fibre, then they must comply. Obtain the procedures/rules/? and see how you can have a motion tabled for the next meeting. If that fails, the body corporate is clearly not representative of the homeowners and you must try to get more pro-fibre people into the body corporate.

I highly advise you to take everything I say with a 10kg bag of salt. My experience with these matters are extremely lacking.

Octotel tried to install there but apparently permission from Telkom was required as they needed to use their ducting system.
Was that before or after the case that landed up in court where the court told telkom to stand down?

Sudo Panic