help me upgrade my car audio

joker08

Expert Member
I have never done this before so any guidance would be really appreciated. I drive a toyota etios with stock audio system and two front speakers. Happy with the sound quality but just want two speakers in back for a little more sound.
I visited Soundmatch, they pointed out that the stock radio doesnt have a rear speaker connection so I would have to change the radio to a different one or some other things and gave me a below list/quote. I dont understand any of this and there is not even a new radio in this.
Item Descriptionqtypricetotal
BB TOYOTA ETIOS 2012 2ND GENERATION279.00279.00
AMPK8 ENERGY AUDIO 8G WIRING KIT *HI+
1​
SPEAKER 16G ENERGY AUDIO FROST PM 100M *H+
16​
AMP4 ENERGY AUDIO 4CH 6ORMSX4 5000.4
1​
SPLITTER 1F-2M STING 1000
2​
LABOUR 1 AMP + 4 SPEAKERS TYPE B
1​
SPK8 DI)-COAXIAL-1-00RMS699.00699.00
SPK69 INFINITY PRIMUS 3WAY 90WRMS 360WPEAK
1​
RCA CONVERTOR BLACK SPIDER HI-LOW+REMOTE
1​

INVOICE TOTAL 4845.00

Last edited:

joker08

Expert Member
if anyone wants to know, I just scanned the quotation and OCR`d it :)

WAslayer

Executive Member
Can't comment on quality of brands, if it's a good price or not etc..

What I can say, there is no radio because they are putting in a 4 channel amp.. so the existing two speaker output from the stock radio will go to the amp and from there it will go to the 4 speakers..

gamer16

Honorary Master
That quote is for way way more than you need if all you want is 4 speakers. You will have to get a amp and a set of 4 speakers, you can get a great amp for around R800 and the same for a set of good speakers plus about another R500 for small things like a line output converter and wiring. Then also labor if you want someone else to install it.

Soundmatch is ripping you off there, where are you based?

joker08

Expert Member