fanusj
Well-Known Member
I received an email from a "trusted" friend a couple of days ago inviting me to a new social network called Twoo.com . Upon opening the link to the website, it gave me the impression that I was already registered on this website and listed some of my contacts on the page offering to invite them too.
What was piculiar was the the contacts listed were named as they were named in my cellphone contact list - and I was viewing my email on my laptop (which has no connection with the cellphone and has never been sync'ed)
I immediately cancelled the account but some contacts reported to me that they did receive the same invite from me.
My only conclusion is that it must be either WhatsApp or Skype who leaked the contact info as both applications have access to my phone's contact list.
Did you have a similar experience ?
What was piculiar was the the contacts listed were named as they were named in my cellphone contact list - and I was viewing my email on my laptop (which has no connection with the cellphone and has never been sync'ed)
I immediately cancelled the account but some contacts reported to me that they did receive the same invite from me.
My only conclusion is that it must be either WhatsApp or Skype who leaked the contact info as both applications have access to my phone's contact list.
Did you have a similar experience ?