Lasik Surgery - My Experience (Long, detailed read..)

nevadayz

Expert Member
Howzit guys,

So ive just been for lasik surgery for both my eyes last thursday, and have fully recovered and back at work :)

I thought it might be informative to others who are thinking about going for the procedure and have concerns and questions.

Lets Begin...

History:

So i have been wearing glasses/contacts for around 15 years now and my eyes had stabilised around the last two years to a prescription of about -3.0 for both eyes. I was short-sighted in both eyes and also slightly astigmatic in my right eye. I wore glasses initially and started using contacts about 9 years ago.

Part 1 - Preliminary testing:

One day i heard from a work colleague about him going for lasik surgery at a nearby clinic and how great the results were and how it changed his life. I decided to do some research on my own and see what he was on about. After speaking to my optometrist and finding out from various people about the Opthamologist and his practice, i was quite surprised. The opthamologist is apparently one of the best in the country and is using one of the newest and most effective procedures currently available worldwide (Wavefront-guided LASIK).