MTN 1TB deals

Space

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2011
Messages
693
Now there’s a Black Friday retentions deal 500GB day + 500GB night express after 12 which is R499pm x 36 months, no clue if DataShare applies to any portion there.
the deal code for the R499 x 36 deal from MTN retentions is 2020 991 CT 000 24 BF and it is only for upgrades to existing contracts that have reached term (e.g. the 2016 and 2018 BF contracts)

Today (9 December) is the last day that MTN 2020 Black Friday deals are valid so get dialling and be prepared to hold on for an hour or longer:

135 from an MTN sim (preferably the one you wish to upgrade) and choose the option for Retentions/Cancellations;
begin by saying that you want to Cancel your contract and hear what they have to offer you.

083 123 3667 Upgrade department

011 912 3000 Retentions (not a free number)

083 171 0062 for so-called "Legacy" contracts - whatever that may mean


as for Data Share: 100 GB of the R499 x 36 contract above is shareable according to the "MTN service champion" I spoke to - haven't physically activated the Data Share yet to confirm this.

Set up your Data Share by phoning Customer Care at 135 to give them your Data Share Beneficiary numbers - the blurb says: "share your monthly data bundle with upto 20 MTN numbers".
 

ryan10

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
131
Hey guys,
I see this has been mentioned before, but I would like some confirmation if I could use Data Share on my subscription?
1TB R999 on Business account, it was sim only as routers were sold out.
I would like to use Data Share on a pre-paid sim, does the sim card have to be registered with the business details or personal details?
APN name is myMTN.
Below are the screen shots from the MTN apps:
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20210326-085741_MTN.jpg
    Screenshot_20210326-085741_MTN.jpg
    149.1 KB · Views: 44
  • Screenshot_20210326-085823_MTN.jpg
    Screenshot_20210326-085823_MTN.jpg
    228.1 KB · Views: 43
  • Screenshot_20210326-085726_MyMTN.jpg
    Screenshot_20210326-085726_MyMTN.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 45
  • Screenshot_20210326-085719_MyMTN.jpg
    Screenshot_20210326-085719_MyMTN.jpg
    197.5 KB · Views: 44

Lishen23

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 3, 2013
Messages
116
Hey guys,
I see this has been mentioned before, but I would like some confirmation if I could use Data Share on my subscription?
1TB R999 on Business account, it was sim only as routers were sold out.
I would like to use Data Share on a pre-paid sim, does the sim card have to be registered with the business details or personal details?
APN name is myMTN.
Below are the screen shots from the MTN apps:
Yes you should be able to use datashare on 500gb of the 1tb and the prepaid numbers that you link don't need to be linked to your business. You can link pretty much anyone
 

ryan10

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
131
@Lishen23 - Thanks for your reply.

I went to MTN to get sim card, consultant was adamant that the Data Share does not work on business contracts.
I got one anyway and set it up through the app, Data Share is working fine.
Got my dual WAN LTE running, so far so good.
 
  • Love
Reactions: Yuu

webyep

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2009
Messages
152
@Lishen23 - Thanks for your reply.

I went to MTN to get sim card, consultant was adamant that the Data Share does not work on business contracts.
I got one anyway and set it up through the app, Data Share is working fine.
Got my dual WAN LTE running, so far so good.
Any feedback on the deal? Going well with the dual WAN?
 

ryan10

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
131
Any feedback on the deal? Going well with the dual WAN?
I signed up for the contract last year October, only decided to experiment with load balanced dual WAN recently. Still playing around with this config.
Seems like an issue with the tower in my area. I have a Huawei B618 and a ZTE MF286c, the B618 kept switching to 900Mhz band, so I set it to 1800-2100 band, unfortunately haven't found a way to set the band on the ZTE. Will try moving the routers to a different location/ position when I get chance. Speed fluctuates between 20-40Mbps down and 10-15Mbps up.
 

airborne

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
11,823
I signed up for the contract last year October, only decided to experiment with load balanced dual WAN recently. Still playing around with this config.
Seems like an issue with the tower in my area. I have a Huawei B618 and a ZTE MF286c, the B618 kept switching to 900Mhz band, so I set it to 1800-2100 band, unfortunately haven't found a way to set the band on the ZTE. Will try moving the routers to a different location/ position when I get chance. Speed fluctuates between 20-40Mbps down and 10-15Mbps up.
What's load balanced dual wan?
Combining the output of 2 4g routers to increase the available bandwidth?
 

ryan10

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
131
Well, not exactly increase the bandwidth but rather to balance the tcp/IP connections.
For example, if I have 2 devices streaming Netflix, the router will split that traffic dynamically or I can assign a rule to tell the router which WAN connection to use for a specific device, but total bandwidth is the same as 1 connection.
I use an OpenWrt based router.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

airborne

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
11,823
Well, not exactly increase the bandwidth but rather to balance the tcp/IP connections.
For example, if I have 2 devices streaming Netflix, the router will split that traffic dynamically or I can assign a rule to tell the router which WAN connection to use for a specific device, but total bandwidth is the same as 1 connection.
I use an OpenWrt based router.

What's the advantage of balancing the tcp/IP connections?
 

netstrider

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2006
Messages
2,289
What's the advantage of balancing the tcp/IP connections?
Could stream over one connection and game over the other, for example.

Or, if one connection is too slow for multiple streams split it up as per example above.

Use thr connection with the faster upload to host something and the other for incoming traffic.

Alternatively, just have one WAN in use and only use the second one as failover.
 
Top