MyGica XBMC Linux Media Player - remote not working?

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
Hi there, I bought the MyGica XBMC Linux Media Player ATV510B today and I was wondering if anyone else has a problem synchronizing the integrated keyboard / mouse remote to the player? I am unable to continue to the setup and have pushed numerous combinations as suggested in the manual to no avail.

It seems there is Android 4.0 installed.

Do anyone have one of these and could you steer me in the right direction? :twisted:
 
Last edited:

Dolby

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
28,927
I didn't even know these existed - but very nice for the price.

I can't help you with the syncronising - but curious as to how you find it ?
 

Ancalagon

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 23, 2010
Messages
18,025
Silly question - if its a keyboard/mouse, have you plugged the USB receiver into the unit?
 

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
My bad, they didn't supply me with a receiver for the keyboard/mouse remote. Had to buy it on eBay. I bought mine second hand at Cash Crusaders, they thought it was a MP4 player!

I'm loving the unit, running Xbmc Linux on it but there is a few things to do to get it running good.
 
Last edited:

akescpt

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
22,079
My bad, they didn't supply me with a receiver for the keyboard/mouse remote. Had to buy it on eBay. I bought mine second hand at Cash Crusaders, they thought it was a MP4 player!

I'm loving the unit, running Xbmc Linux on it but there is a few things to do to get it running good.

How do you find the networking?
 

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
How do you find the networking?

Wired is better than wifi however you need to move the internal wifi module to the front of the unit.
The placement of the wifi is incorrect giving the unit a bad rep.
 

Lord Nikon6

Expert Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
1,419
Wired is better than wifi however you need to move the internal wifi module to the front of the unit.
The placement of the wifi is incorrect giving the unit a bad rep.

hmmm, how tough is it to open the unit. I have the ATV520E, it has an external antenna, but the wifi is still not too great. The remote I got with mine is a tiny remote with no keyboard, but has a mouse button. It did not require any integration/syncing.
 

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
I managed to open it up in 15 minus with the moving of the internal wifi module.
Strange how people can mess up a good product with incorrect placement.
Streamed 1080p without a hitch.
 

akescpt

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
22,079
Wired is better than wifi however you need to move the internal wifi module to the front of the unit.
The placement of the wifi is incorrect giving the unit a bad rep.

Almost bought it. How much you pay for it? Can you add plugins to xbmc?
 

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
Almost bought it. How much you pay for it? Can you add plugins to xbmc?

R499 not bad for the price. Yes you can however adding more plugins could slow it down. You can set it up with Xbmc fusion and all of the add ins that you can think of via zip or online repository.
The trick is to find the right balance without compromising your watching experience.
Heavy skins won't work too well however Confluence rocks.
 

Lord Nikon6

Expert Member
Joined
May 10, 2010
Messages
1,419
R499 not bad for the price. Yes you can however adding more plugins could slow it down. You can set it up with Xbmc fusion and all of the add ins that you can think of via zip or online repository.
The trick is to find the right balance without compromising your watching experience.
Heavy skins won't work too well however Confluence rocks.

THe one I have ships with Aeon nox, but confluence is much faster on it.
 

SauRoNZA

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 6, 2010
Messages
41,511
Can you replace XBMC completely and install Plex on it for instance?
 

JvanD

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2009
Messages
1,188
Can you replace XBMC completely and install Plex on it for instance?

No, it's either Linux Xbmc or Stock Android. Plex is cool, I like Xbmc better. More customization and yes ... freedom!
 

akescpt

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
22,079
R499 not bad for the price. Yes you can however adding more plugins could slow it down. You can set it up with Xbmc fusion and all of the add ins that you can think of via zip or online repository.
The trick is to find the right balance without compromising your watching experience.
Heavy skins won't work too well however Confluence rocks.

Usually go with the default one. Networking is my main concern. I wonder if it can link to my server and sync read/unread for series.
 
Top