Neotel bandwidth shaped or unshaped ?

CaTcH21

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
2,808
im really sick and tired of Telkom now, and would like to jump ship, im curios to know if their bandwidth i shaped/unshaped.
 

medicnick83

Paramedic
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
20,549
You know what I wouldn't mind, playing Battlefield 2: Special Forces (or the other expansion packs) on International servers and not get kicked because of my high ping!!!! :(
 

edge7_77

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
18
NEOTEL SHAPED!!

I had been planning on joining Neotel once it reached KZN but since I've learned that they've blocked all incoming ports so you can't use p2p, which it makes it more shaped than telkom is by a mile, even though they claim to be unshaped, I'm now having serious doubts about joining Neotel.
:mad:
Shoulda known uncapped, unshaped ADSL in SA is only possible in extremely farfetched sci-fi movies!!
:(
Well hopefully when the new adsl line to india is finished in June next year (if it is finished by then) adsl will become unshaped and the speed will increase. :sick:
 

Stoner

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2007
Messages
303
As mentioned their bandwidth is unshaped but I'm also holding a grain of salt in one hand just for in case...

The biggest problem so far is the usb telephone that you receive. You cant configure it like a router so no port forwarding or any other type of configuring of any sort.

So even if the bandwidth is unshapped you cant use it properly.

Neotel better come up with a proper ethernet router soon!!!!
 

alt21

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
767
They allow p2p but seeing as u will never b connectible ur speeds could quite possibly b cr@p
 

boramk

Bammed
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
9,743
I had been planning on joining Neotel once it reached KZN but since I've learned that they've blocked all incoming ports so you can't use p2p, which it makes it more shaped than telkom is by a mile, even though they claim to be unshaped, I'm now having serious doubts about joining Neotel.
:mad:
Shoulda known uncapped, unshaped ADSL in SA is only possible in extremely farfetched sci-fi movies!!
:(
Well hopefully when the new adsl line to india is finished in June next year (if it is finished by then) adsl will become unshaped and the speed will increase. :sick:
Are you a Telkom emplyee?
 

Ludjer

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
400
I had been planning on joining Neotel once it reached KZN but since I've learned that they've blocked all incoming ports so you can't use p2p, which it makes it more shaped than telkom is by a mile, even though they claim to be unshaped, I'm now having serious doubts about joining Neotel.
:mad:
Shoulda known uncapped, unshaped ADSL in SA is only possible in extremely farfetched sci-fi movies!!
:(
Well hopefully when the new adsl line to india is finished in June next year (if it is finished by then) adsl will become unshaped and the speed will increase. :sick:
ye if it like that then it sucks
 

Obelix

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
961
it has to be shaped. they will never let your kiddie porn downloads affect their voice clients which happen to share the same data link you do.
 

newklear

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2008
Messages
841
I had been planning on joining Neotel once it reached KZN but since I've learned that they've blocked all incoming ports so you can't use p2p, which it makes it more shaped than telkom is by a mile, even though they claim to be unshaped, I'm now having serious doubts about joining Neotel.
:mad:
Shoulda known uncapped, unshaped ADSL in SA is only possible in extremely farfetched sci-fi movies!!
:(
Well hopefully when the new adsl line to india is finished in June next year (if it is finished by then) adsl will become unshaped and the speed will increase. :sick:
All Incoming Ports are blocked by default, the device is a modem not a router, there is no default firewall protection on the device so naturally it makes sense. You can however just call in and request which ports you would like opened and they are opened just like>that< over the phone. If Opening various ports you just need to make sure you have the most upto-date and well tested firewall/adware/spyware and virus protection software.

I am on the uncapped Neo-Connect Lite package which advertises speeds of upto 157 kbps on their website, I get just that, I see all my downloads average at around 20KB/s so it is definately not shaped once you have your requested ports opened.

I'm not to worried though, as soon as my H1B (work) visa is approved I will be using this: http://www.speedtest.net/result/330135573.png (GF's home connection)
 

Chevron

Serial breaker of phones
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
25,901
I had been planning on joining Neotel once it reached KZN but since I've learned that they've blocked all incoming ports so you can't use p2p, which it makes it more shaped than telkom is by a mile, even though they claim to be unshaped, I'm now having serious doubts about joining Neotel.
:mad:
Shoulda known uncapped, unshaped ADSL in SA is only possible in extremely farfetched sci-fi movies!!
:(
Well hopefully when the new adsl line to india is finished in June next year (if it is finished by then) adsl will become unshaped and the speed will increase. :sick:
All Incoming Ports are blocked by default, the device is a modem not a router, there is no default firewall protection on the device so naturally it makes sense. You can however just call in and request which ports you would like opened and they are opened just like>that< over the phone. If Opening various ports you just need to make sure you have the most upto-date and well tested firewall/adware/spyware and virus protection software.

I am on the uncapped Neo-Connect Lite package which advertises speeds of upto 157 kbps on their website, I get just that, I see all my downloads average at around 20KB/s so it is definately not shaped once you have your requested ports opened.

I'm not to worried though, as soon as my H1B (work) visa is approved I will be using this: http://www.speedtest.net/result/330135573.png (GF's home connection)
There you go.
 

lenw54

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
3
All Incoming Ports are blocked by default, the device is a modem not a router, there is no default firewall protection on the device so naturally it makes sense. You can however just call in and request which ports you would like opened and they are opened just like>that< over the phone. If Opening various ports you just need to make sure you have the most upto-date and well tested firewall/adware/spyware and virus protection software.

I am on the uncapped Neo-Connect Lite package which advertises speeds of upto 157 kbps on their website, I get just that, I see all my downloads average at around 20KB/s so it is definately not shaped once you have your requested ports opened.

I'm not to worried though, as soon as my H1B (work) visa is approved I will be using this: http://www.speedtest.net/result/330135573.png (GF's home connection)
Please excuse my ignorance in ports.
I also have the uncapped Lite version and my torret downloads are ridiculous. If I ask them to unblock a port, how do I know which one to ask for?
 

rtzouves

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
511
You simply phone them up and request a port be opened, they will then open the port for you.

With regards to what port you should open it depends on the port you have set the app to use. If using utorrent then press cntrl + G and the port can be seen/set from there. Make sure you add the port to the exception list in your firewall too.
 
Top