OpenView HD launched

RichardG

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
11,666
Are you able to use your existing top tv installation and replace the decoder to access OpenView
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
Yes. I have read in the news when they announced it officially.
But is it worth to spend R999 for that decoder? I am asking because I also have top tv.
Are you able to use your existing top tv installation and replace the decoder to access OpenView
 

oronte

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
2,182
Yes. I have read in the news when they announced it officially.
But is it worth to spend R999 for that decoder? I am asking because I also have top tv.
I don't understand why anyone would pay this much? All of these channels will be available on DTT next year (and a DTT decoder won't cost nearly as much and will get you more channels).
 

Mr K

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
911
I agree. I would like to know if any of the top tv subscribers going to buy the decoder? If yes, why?
I don't understand why anyone would pay this much? All of these channels will be available on DTT next year (and a DTT decoder won't cost nearly as much and will get you more channels).
 

FlashSA

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,961
Are you able to use your existing top tv installation and replace the decoder to access OpenView
NO, not without a dish realignment - OpenView needs a dish pointed in the same direction as DSTV. TopTV is a different direction.
 

Quantum Theory

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
9,386
I don't understand why anyone would pay this much? All of these channels will be available on DTT next year (and a DTT decoder won't cost nearly as much and will get you more channels).
Firstly, DTT is still being delayed... Again and again and again. The DTT decoder will be max R300 cheaper. Also, these channels will not all be available on DTT. Platco is a broadcaster and other service providers can use their platform in the future. This means even more channels, in HD, for a once of cost. Just saying.
 

oronte

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
2,182
Firstly, DTT is still being delayed... Again and again and again. The DTT decoder will be max R300 cheaper. Also, these channels will not all be available on DTT. Platco is a broadcaster and other service providers can use their platform in the future. This means even more channels, in HD, for a once of cost. Just saying.
No, they have stated all the e.tv channels will be available in DTT. The only HD channel they offer is e.tv - have you watched e.tv recently? Why would it be any better in HD? They can only carry channels licensed to broadcast in SA, so the only other HD channels they can have are from the companies that already provide content to them - the religious channels, Learn and e.tv, there's no one else. ICASA is licensing a number of new channelhs for DTT, Openview will only carry them if those channels pay them to do so (and why would they do so?) Choosing Openview over DTT will result in you missing out on more channels (unless you want the religious channels which won't be available on DTT). DTT is at most a year away now. I would think Sentech's satellite service will at least be a bit better as it will mirror all DTT channels, if you can't wait. Also DTT is at least R1500 cheaper as you forgot to take into account the installation charge of between R1200 and R1500.
 
Last edited:

kaaskop

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2005
Messages
1,572
NO, not without a dish realignment - OpenView needs a dish pointed in the same direction as DSTV. TopTV is a different direction.
Nope wrong way around:

The Platco Digital platform uses the same SES-5 satellite as On Digital Media’s TopTV, which means consumers with TopTV dishes will be able to receive the service. Subscribers to MultiChoice’s DStv will need to purchase a new dish.
 

dbnnet

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
915
Without International News networks (BBC / CNN etc.) I think Openview is a dead duck with most potential viewers going to simply wait for the much cheaper DTT that will have just as many, if not more channels.
 

FlashSA

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,961
Nope wrong way around:

The Platco Digital platform uses the same SES-5 satellite as On Digital Media’s TopTV, which means consumers with TopTV dishes will be able to receive the service. Subscribers to MultiChoice’s DStv will need to purchase a new dish.
I stand corrected....
 

CamiKaze

Honorary Master
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
13,318
I don't understand why anyone would pay this much? All of these channels will be available on DTT next year (and a DTT decoder won't cost nearly as much and will get you more channels).
What is DTT? and why do we need so many decoders? isn't there one decoder to rule them all? 'cos im looking into buying the explora and only the explora.
 

Nerfherder

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
24,518
What is DTT? and why do we need so many decoders? isn't there one decoder to rule them all? 'cos im looking into buying the explora and only the explora.
DTT does not use a dish, it uses the normal aerial.
 

Rouxenator

Dank meme lord
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
35,612
Broadcast TV = Boredcast TV
DTT does not use a dish, it uses the normal aerial.
It uses an aerial, yes, but in most cases a normal one will not suffice. You'll probably have to get an expensive high gain Yagi in order to pick up a strong enough signal for the receiver to decode.
 

oronte

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
2,182
What is DTT? and why do we need so many decoders? isn't there one decoder to rule them all? 'cos im looking into buying the explora and only the explora.
You should be fine with the Explora, DStv will most likely include the free to air DTT channels when they launch (and if they don't will you really miss anything?)
 

revorushin

Active Member
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
95
So who is going to be the brave one here and jump into the fire for us first guys? Anyone getting this today still?
 
Top