poor internation upload speeds Cool Ideas

Fcon_Vpro

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
949
@chrisGolf
Im on Cool Ideas 50/50 on SADV but in Lonehill,JHB.
I am pretty happy with my connection and performance in general.
I do notice some issues occasionally but usually resolves itself.
My speedtests have been good to international of late(Dependant on server).
I haven't done too much uploading of late so cant comment on that.

I am happy to try replicate some of the tests you are doing as we have similar connection speeds and networks, with only our area and personal network equipement as differentiating factors.
Feel free to PM me with anything specific you want me to test and I will try assist.
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
@chrisGolf
Im on Cool Ideas 50/50 on SADV but in Lonehill,JHB.
I am pretty happy with my connection and performance in general.
I do notice some issues occasionally but usually resolves itself.
My speedtests have been good to international of late(Dependant on server).
I haven't done too much uploading of late so cant comment on that.

I am happy to try replicate some of the tests you are doing as we have similar connection speeds and networks, with only our area and personal network equipement as differentiating factors.
Feel free to PM me with anything specific you want me to test and I will try assist.
Hi Fcon, thanks for reaching out.
I'll definitely message you later on. For now, out of interest, what upload speeds do you get if you use speedtest.net to random UK servers? And are you using windows? Apparently the windows TCP scaling could be degrading the upload throughput?
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
okay so ... @PBCool could be correct in saying that windows TCP scaling (or some other network setting) could be responsible for the poor upload bandwidth speeds when latency is higher.

Two speedtest.net tests to the same server in the UK(latency ~163ms) :

windows 10, wired, upload ~12Mbps (https://www.speedtest.net/result/8240143843)
iPhone/iOS, upload ~44Mbps (https://www.speedtest.net/result/i/3231384485)

I've tried disabling auto scaling on win10:
netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled (https://www.thewindowsclub.com/window-auto-tuning-in-windows-10)
without any noticeable effect...
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
The proxy address is stuprx01.cisp.co.za with the port 3128, there arent commands to use a proxy, you would need to set it up in your respective application.
Hi @PBCool

Did more testing, this time with the proxy.

Unfortunately the proxy tests show better performance

Test 1: Drop box uploading ~60Mb file
Without Proxy took +1 minute (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-JX4c04BMmZBnB--k8sBIxarE65TJlEn)
With proxy <30sec (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YOVCf9XGhLdalNGL9R5_7HWkxqark4Ay)

Test 2: testmy.net to upload test to UK server
Without proxy = 6.43 Mbps (https://testmy.net/db/qUHI0KTBH )
with proxy = 22.28 Mbps (https://testmy.net/db/pyP1-o3gI )

Test 3: fast.com
without proxy = 36Mbps (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1021FNTe2TzrFjEN_n9TYzM2dKMMOHqFv)
with proxy = 42 Mbps (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ivexNY4U0MEVz7HV3T0yP6LNYpbvmc5D)

conclusion; proxy is faster

Is that enough proof that there is problem with your network?

if so, please could I get a response to my ticket? #COOL-20190416-253941

regards,
Chris
 

Loppas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
462
@chrisGolf

That's proof that there is an issue somewhere between your line, your fibre provider and CISP. There have been people on octotel who saw the same behaviour, proxy performed significantly better, for months until octotel finally sorted it out recently in cape town.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,418
Hi @PBCool

Did more testing, this time with the proxy.

Unfortunately the proxy tests show better performance

Test 1: Drop box uploading ~60Mb file
Without Proxy took +1 minute (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-JX4c04BMmZBnB--k8sBIxarE65TJlEn)
With proxy <30sec (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1YOVCf9XGhLdalNGL9R5_7HWkxqark4Ay)

Test 2: testmy.net to upload test to UK server
Without proxy = 6.43 Mbps (https://testmy.net/db/qUHI0KTBH )
with proxy = 22.28 Mbps (https://testmy.net/db/pyP1-o3gI )

Test 3: fast.com
without proxy = 36Mbps (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1021FNTe2TzrFjEN_n9TYzM2dKMMOHqFv)
with proxy = 42 Mbps (https://drive.google.com/open?id=1ivexNY4U0MEVz7HV3T0yP6LNYpbvmc5D)

conclusion; proxy is faster

Is that enough proof that there is problem with your network?

if so, please could I get a response to my ticket? #COOL-20190416-253941

regards,
Chris
Yeah the proxy has the same priority on the network as your line would, so this is usually an indicator of loss on your line. Have you logged iperf tests as yet?
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
Yeah the proxy has the same priority on the network as your line would, so this is usually an indicator of loss on your line. Have you logged iperf tests as yet?
Hi @PBCool,
Yes, the last coms on the ticket was on the 2019-04-26 asking me to run a couple of iperf tests, which I did and responded the same day. Still waiting for feedback? Could you give them a little nudge?
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
Packet loss would have a similar affect as the latency is higher, what result do you get to a server in region?
Every time I've tested - consistency, stable, good speeds to JHB server
e.g. did one now : https://www.speedtest.net/result/8278939769

In addition, no packet loss doing a ping test to your CP speed test server:

Ping statistics for 154.0.15.181:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 25ms
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,418
Every time I've tested - consistency, stable, good speeds to JHB server
e.g. did one now : https://www.speedtest.net/result/8278939769

In addition, no packet loss doing a ping test to your CP speed test server:

Ping statistics for 154.0.15.181:
Packets: Sent = 10, Received = 10, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 24ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 25ms
You wouldn't see the loss in a few random pings, have you done an upload iperf? Minus the "-R" basically.
 

dillydog

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
161
I am having issues with Local Upload, all of my speed tests from my Windows 10 laptop have around half of the upload. Strangely enough when I had the Infrastructure provider at my house they tested on their vlan with there router and the uploads where perfect. I have logged a call with Cool Ideas but have no feed back as to why speed tests have a slow upload on windows 10. FYI my Android phone speed tests seem fine. Are Cool Ideas Throttling my upload so how?
 

chrisGolf

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
37
I am having issues with Local Upload, all of my speed tests from my Windows 10 laptop have around half of the upload. Strangely enough when I had the Infrastructure provider at my house they tested on their vlan with there router and the uploads where perfect. I have logged a call with Cool Ideas but have no feed back as to why speed tests have a slow upload on windows 10. FYI my Android phone speed tests seem fine. Are Cool Ideas Throttling my upload so how?
Summary of my issue:

50/50 Mbps, SADV is backend, JHB based.

Local PC-win10 upload (wired/wireless)
~47 Mbps (expected result)

International Pc-win10 upload (wired/wireless 5Ghz)
~14Mbps (multi tests over couple of months, can never achieve higher then 14Mbps)
(still have CISP ticket opened, no response now for a month)

International iOS (wireless 5Ghz)
~47Mbps

So similar issue except local is fine for me.
What is your latency like locally? should be <5ms

it's been suggested that the TCP window auto sizing could contribute to the poor upload speed, but experimented by switching it on and off without much success ...
Also played around with gpedit.msc
Administrative Templates > Network > Qos Packet Scheduler > Limit reservable bandwidth.
and not really getting anywhere.

regards,
chris
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,418
Summary of my issue:

50/50 Mbps, SADV is backend, JHB based.

Local PC-win10 upload (wired/wireless)
~47 Mbps (expected result)

International Pc-win10 upload (wired/wireless 5Ghz)
~14Mbps (multi tests over couple of months, can never achieve higher then 14Mbps)
(still have CISP ticket opened, no response now for a month)

International iOS (wireless 5Ghz)
~47Mbps

So similar issue except local is fine for me.
What is your latency like locally? should be
it's been suggested that the TCP window auto sizing could contribute to the poor upload speed, but experimented by switching it on and off without much success ...
Also played around with gpedit.msc
Administrative Templates > Network > Qos Packet Scheduler > Limit reservable bandwidth.
and not really getting anywhere.

regards,
chris
There are some tweaks you can do to improve windows window scaling on outbound but it's a dumb stack not designed this way. Hence the recommendation to use the Linux proxy.
 
Top