Proxy issues on my Galaxy S3

Compton_effect

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Messages
12,158
Strange one - as of this morning - my browser stopped working on my Galaxy. Both Dolphin and the included browser gave the same proxy settings error. So I phoned customer care. A very helpfull young lady there handled my call and had me manually set up a new connection.
Interesting thing is - I was not the first call she'd had today with this issue, and all of them were users with Galaxy SIII's.
Anyone else experienced this?
 

WesleyR

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
591
Howzit

I've been having exactly the same issue this morning!! I even went as far as wiping my cache and dalvik to try fix the problem. :)

Are you on Vodacom by any chance?
 

Compton_effect

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Messages
12,158
Yep.
WAP works, but the normal internet settings is down.

Howzit

I've been having exactly the same issue this morning!! I even went as far as wiping my cache and dalvik to try fix the problem. :)

Are you on Vodacom by any chance?
 

WesleyR

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
591
Do you perhaps have the WAP settings for me?

Did Vodacom say what the problem is or when it will be fixed?
 

WesleyR

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
591
Ok, seems to be fixed now, I can connect fine, haven't changed anything. Stupid Vodacom.
 

Compton_effect

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 7, 2006
Messages
12,158
Settings - Mobile Network - Access Point Names - New APN.
Name: wap.vodacom
APN:internet
Proxy:196.006.128.012
Port: 8080
Server: http://wap.vodacom4me.co.za
APN Type: default
Save - Activate - Back One screen - Disable 'Use packet data'

But yeah- its workign again. Someone messed up the proxy server.
 

Ockie

Resident Lead Bender
Joined
Feb 16, 2008
Messages
51,198
You guys dont have to use the proxy. Just set the APN to internet and the rest you leave blank.
 
Top