Rain 5G. I am impressed!

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
23,326
was just kidding..

from another happy rain customer then?
It would seem something is going on along Lynwood Road with 5G by the Mobile operators? Maybe that is what we picked up momentarily? There is a VC mast about 400 m from us as the crow flies. I presume a 5G phone should be able to show something. Rain is not in the area for sure.
 
Last edited:

nad_isa

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2011
Messages
635
It would seem something is going on along Lynwood Road with 5G by the Mobile operators? Maybe that is what we picked up momentarily? There is a VC mast about 400 m from us as the crow flies. I presume a 5G phone should be able to show something. Rain is not in the area for sure.
probably the voda tower you picked up that maybe wasnt initially supposed to be.
 

powermzii

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
4,714
It would seem something is going on along Lynwood Road with 5G by the Mobile operators? Maybe that is what we picked up momentarily? There is a VC mast about 400 m from us as the crow flies. I presume a 5G phone should be able to show something. Rain is not in the area for sure.
Which side of Lynwood are you Geoff? Am just off Atterbury in Garsfontein and have about 5 towers around me (varying distances) with my main tower opposite Times Square (Menlyn Maine)
 

Geoff.D

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
23,326
Which side of Lynwood are you Geoff? Am just off Atterbury in Garsfontein and have about 5 towers around me (varying distances) with my main tower opposite Times Square (Menlyn Maine)
A long way down Lynnwood Road, closer to The Grove. Definitely out of the current VC coverage area fro 5G.
So it was either a freak detection, or VC was/is busy extending 5G coverage and are not quite ready yet, and it was just luck that we detected %G while they were busy with some or other test.
 

desmoresr

Active Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
31
Agree with OP. Using 5G for 2 months now and the speed is incredible.

I will note there is fibre throughout the area where the tower is located.
 

TheRealWitblitz

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
118
Is it possible to upgrade to the Premium package with the CPE Pro router? Or do you have to swap it for a CPE X?

(Rain speed test average around 250Mbps+ with the CPE Pro)
 

Donn666

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
1
Can somebody help me ? Please assist. Have not had rain 4G connectivity sine 03 Sept. 2020. Contract paid in full. I have signal bars but no 4G. APN settings are correct and have not been tampered with. on 06 Sept. I received a notification saying " No Service, selected rain network not available. Today 07 Sept. I have signal bars but no connectivity. Please help, *** *** **** / *** *** **** - call cos I'll have no network
 
Last edited by a moderator:

SeaSickMama

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
1,966
Can somebody help me ? Please assist. Have not had rain 4G connectivity sine 03 Sept. 2020. Contract paid in full. I have signal bars but no 4G. APN settings are correct and have not been tampered with. on 06 Sept. I received a notification saying " No Service, selected rain network not available. Today 07 Sept. I have signal bars but no connectivity. Please help, *** *** **** / *** *** **** - call cos I'll have no network
Reset router to default and then ?
 
Top