smart database search

Spartaniz

Expert Member
Hi geniuses.

Firstly, i have no knowledge of coding or any form of software development- so i hope what I am going to ask will make sense.

I have someone working on a project for myself where a lot of data will be stored in a SQL database.

I want a search engine where someone can type a sentence and the database will be searched. I want the searches to be recorded and be able to be optimized.

say someone searches for an apple and banana pie, the search results will then display three things, apples, bananas and finally the apple and banana pie. The person will click the last result, as that was what the person was looking for. I want this to be recorded so the engine will know to display the option on top the next time.

Al the info should be stored on the server.

Basically, the search should learn with time- be smart.

I did google for a few things, but I don't actually know what to look for- can someone point me in the right direction?

Regards

xrapidx

Honorary Master
What exactly are you looking for?

Its simple logic that needs to be coded, something like a hit count for each of the options, and then sort by hit count, then name. (hit being a click)

The first time a query returns, it'll be sorted by name because all the terms will have a hit count of 0, the second time one of the results will have a hit count of > 0, so it'll be first, then by name.

House

Banned
What exactly are you looking for?

Its simple logic that needs to be coded, something like a hit count for each of the options, and then sort by hit count, then name. (hit being a click)

The first time a query returns, it'll be sorted by name because all the terms will have a hit count of 0, the second time one of the results will have a hit count of > 0, so it'll be first, then by name.