Telkom IP Voice Service

mh348

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
4,188
Anyone else here using Telkom's IP voice service?

I received my login details yesterday, but I'm unable to connect. I've tried Zoiper, a Yealink deskphone, Huawei B316 router with built-in voip, but can't seem to get any of them to register.
 

ZenithZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
5
Having a similar problem. Initially couldn't even register. Now I've done so but not sure how to provision the phone I received from them (Yealink W52P) for the service. Any thoughts? Did you come right?
 

mh348

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
4,188
Having a similar problem. Initially couldn't even register. Now I've done so but not sure how to provision the phone I received from them (Yealink W52P) for the service. Any thoughts? Did you come right?
I have a Yealink T21P, (Not from Telkom), I did the setup via the web interface not via the telkom provisioning menu..

Here's the setup I used (note the proxy/outbound server that telkom gives you is incorrect, use the one listed below instead)

Register Name Format: +27xxxxxxxxx@ppr2.ims.telkom.co.za
Username Format: +27xxxxxxxxx
Outbound Server (Proxy): 165.148.1.54
Server Host: ppr2.ims.telkom.co.za

*ps. My phone is a very old model/version, so the layout might be a little different on the newer models.
 

Attachments

  • Telkom_IP_Voice_VOIP_Setup_Yealink_T21P.png
    Telkom_IP_Voice_VOIP_Setup_Yealink_T21P.png
    68.2 KB · Views: 36
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

ZenithZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
5
Hi.
Thanks for replying. My domain is listed as "cbs.ims.telkom.co.za". My SIP proxy as "ipv.ea.telkomvoip.co.za". I tried your advice with the ppr2 domain and also the cbs domain. No luck. Can I just ask, is the password you used the one that appears by default when you log in or did you obtain a password from elsewhere? Any other advice? My web portal display is almost exactly like yours.
 

mh348

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2006
Messages
4,188
Hi.
Thanks for replying. My domain is listed as "cbs.ims.telkom.co.za". My SIP proxy as "ipv.ea.telkomvoip.co.za". I tried your advice with the ppr2 domain and also the cbs domain. No luck. Can I just ask, is the password you used the one that appears by default when you log in or did you obtain a password from elsewhere? Any other advice? My web portal display is almost exactly like yours.
Maybe use the domain that you have, but try the ip address in my post above and see if that works..

For the password, you can set you own via this link:
https://apps.telkom.co.za/bonsai/user/ssVoice

It also shows the domain and proxy to use, but in my case the supplied proxy doesn't work, I found the IP address in one of their user guides for a D-Link device.
 

shahedgh

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
25
Hi ,

How do I signup for a Telkom VOIP service for home use, I've called them and even visited their stores, no one knows what I am talking about. Will appreciate your guidance. Thx
 

Lifeofagambler

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
62
Hi ,

How do I signup for a Telkom VOIP service for home use, I've called them and even visited their stores, no one knows what I am talking about. Will appreciate your guidance. Thx

Try applying through this link and they will call you back to confirm the order
 

deweyzeph

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
8,332
I don't understand why anyone would want to use Telkom for VOIP. The whole point of VOIP is to never have to deal with Telkom ever again. You're just jumping from the pot into the fire.
 

Lifeofagambler

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
62
I don't understand why anyone would want to use Telkom for VOIP. The whole point of VOIP is to never have to deal with Telkom ever again. You're just jumping from the pot into the fire.

This new unlimited calling plan coupled with the R399 25/5 fibre plan works out cheaper than say openserve fibre with axxess which i currently use at R645 a month...
Unlimited data and calling for R600 sounds a bargain even if i have to deal with telkom occasionally
 

deweyzeph

Executive Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
8,332

This new unlimited calling plan coupled with the R399 25/5 fibre plan works out cheaper than say openserve fibre with axxess which i currently use at R645 a month...
Unlimited data and calling for R600 sounds a bargain even if i have to deal with telkom occasionally
It could be free for all I care, I personally would never be a Telkom customer again, no matter how cheap their products are.
 

Dark Agent

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
2,181

This new unlimited calling plan coupled with the R399 25/5 fibre plan works out cheaper than say openserve fibre with axxess which i currently use at R645 a month...
Unlimited data and calling for R600 sounds a bargain even if i have to deal with telkom occasionally
Vox telecom has unlimited VOIP @R171.
 

ZenithZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
5
The Telkom VOIP service is not bad and their broadband service well priced and good value. Their sales department is just really bad. The walk in stores deal only with home products not business products. As long as there is a Home VOIP product available the store should have information on it, so maybe try another store. All business products have to be bought online or via 1023.
Hi ,

How do I signup for a Telkom VOIP service for home use, I've called them and even visited their stores, no one knows what I am talking about. Will appreciate your guidance. Thx
 

ZenithZN

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
5
Stand alone or tied to a fibre offering? MWEB has pretty good VOIP offerings - the only problem is it comes with bundled minutes only - there no provision for out of bundle minutes except to buy another bundle and the cost per minute is pretty expensive.
Vox telecom has unlimited VOIP @R171.
 

Lifeofagambler

Active Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
62
Stand alone or tied to a fibre offering? MWEB has pretty good VOIP offerings - the only problem is it comes with bundled minutes only - there no provision for out of bundle minutes except to buy another bundle and the cost per minute is pretty expensive.
Stand alone. Seems amazing value for money
 

shahedgh

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2018
Messages
25
The Telkom VOIP service is not bad and their broadband service well priced and good value. Their sales department is just really bad. The walk in stores deal only with home products not business products. As long as there is a Home VOIP product available the store should have information on it, so maybe try another store. All business products have to be bought online or via 1023.
thank u
 

Zodiac69

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
77
Hi ZenithZN

Did you manage to get your Yealink T21 configured?
I have the same domain is listed as "cbs.ims.telkom.co.za" and SIP proxy as "ipv.ea.telkomvoip.co.za".
I am not able to get the phone to register either.
 

wabmail2010

Active Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2017
Messages
50
Just set up my ported IPvoice on telkom fibre, works like a charm, voice quality is great

Activated the config in portal, needs number and password, i chose 'use own device'

plugged in a old POTs telephone (Plain Old Telephone) into the Dlink DWR-956M (fibre and LTE) and in the VIOP section added incoming ,outgoing servers, username and password

Basic Setup
Domain - Register Server : ctb.ims.telkom.co.za Port:5060
SIP Proxy - Outbound Server : ipv.so.telkomvoip.co.za Port:5060
Connection1 : User Name : +27121081010@ctb.ims.telkom.co.za
Password ###







1617743089722.png

1617742784131.png

1617741377380.png
 
Top