Telkom Website Down?

Chevron

Serial breaker of phones
Joined
Oct 2, 2007
Messages
25,904
I haven't been able to buy a data bundle the whole day. Tried internet banking, web portal and USSD.

Seems like a big systems failure somewhere.
 

Prof.Merlin

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
1,548
They having a major DC issue at the moment affecting all backend services. Front end sites like Telkom.co.za and openserve.co.za are being affected due to bottleneck issues somewhere along the way.
 

Fireball

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
160
They having a major DC issue at the moment affecting all backend services. Front end sites like Telkom.co.za and openserve.co.za are being affected due to bottleneck issues somewhere along the way.
Ah, I see.

Whoever is responsible for this, please stop downloading porn for a few minutes so I can load a databundle?
 

nevstarwader

Active Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
85
I have been trying to pay for a new bundle since last week, but Telkom systems are down and cannot accept payment. Eventually was able to speak to someone on phone (Text chat hardly gets any response) who said that lines were stolen (????) and they are not able to accept payments. So this means I will just have to be patient without data until they can accept payment again. Yes - true!! He says going to a Telkom Mobile shop will not help.
With Telkom I have been doing 100Gig prepaid for just over R3000. I am trying Vodacom but seems they do not have prepaid - only TopUp. I want to use the same B593 modem/router with a Vodacom SIM - anyone have any advice for me- is this possible?
 

Fireball

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
160
I have been trying to pay for a new bundle since last week, but Telkom systems are down and cannot accept payment. Eventually was able to speak to someone on phone (Text chat hardly gets any response) who said that lines were stolen (????) and they are not able to accept payments. So this means I will just have to be patient without data until they can accept payment again. Yes - true!! He says going to a Telkom Mobile shop will not help.
With Telkom I have been doing 100Gig prepaid for just over R3000. I am trying Vodacom but seems they do not have prepaid - only TopUp. I want to use the same B593 modem/router with a Vodacom SIM - anyone have any advice for me- is this possible?
I have the same router.
Cell C's 200GB for R1700 works fine for me. Get decent speeds. About 20mbps most times. And it's once off, so no contract needed. You do need to get the first one in Cell C stores though. After that, you can buy from the app as needed.
 

Fireball

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2011
Messages
160
I have the same router.
Cell C's 200GB for R1700 works fine for me. Get decent speeds. About 20mbps most times. And it's once off, so no contract needed. You do need to get the first one in Cell C stores though. After that, you can buy from the app as needed.
Doh! Sorry, I missed the part where you want to keep using Vodacom. Can't help you there, sorry.
 

Faux_Grey

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2014
Messages
153
Same thing was happening here.

Just failed over to my MTN link all weekend, I think they're being attacked.

Billing was down, mobile network speeds were down to less than 10Kbps, even their speedtest.net centurion server went offline.
 

H3X

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
5
I have been trying to pay for a new bundle since last week, but Telkom systems are down and cannot accept payment. Eventually was able to speak to someone on phone (Text chat hardly gets any response) who said that lines were stolen (????) and they are not able to accept payments. So this means I will just have to be patient without data until they can accept payment again. Yes - true!! He says going to a Telkom Mobile shop will not help.
With Telkom I have been doing 100Gig prepaid for just over R3000. I am trying Vodacom but seems they do not have prepaid - only TopUp. I want to use the same B593 modem/router with a Vodacom SIM - anyone have any advice for me- is this possible?
Telkom uses a unique mobile broadband frequency for their LTE network (2300Mhz) - this is the only network in SA to use this frequency. Vodacom uses the (more common) LTE 2100 MHz frequency. Be advised, then, that B593 routers that were bought for use on Telkom's network will NOT be compatible with Vodacom's *LTE* network. You will be able to connect to 3G on Vodacom, however.

The only exception being if you re-flash your router with other firmware to "unlock" the relevant frequencies. This is possible as the model of your router sold by Telkom is technically capable of operating on virtually all known frequencies, but it has been essentially "locked-down" by Telkom's firmware. The process of doing this is not without risks, however, as you can "brick" your device and, whilst flashing is not technically illegal (it is your device, to do with as you please, after all), acquisition/possession of the (copyrighted) firmware needed for this procedure, is (illegal).
 
Last edited:

H3X

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
5
Back on-topic, though: I've also noticed severe slow-downs on Telkom's network as well as being unable to access most of the front-end general (website) and self-service (account info, balance checks) channels (web, app).

The upside is that I've been forced to re-locate and re-direct my external antenna for acceptable reception, which should hopefully result in better-than-before speeds once the full network is restored.

Does anyone have any clue as to what is happening? I've been getting mixed reports of "wires being stolen" to "website hacking" to vague statements of "bottlenecks". This happened within the first week of March (and is still continuing at time of posting) - perhaps it has something to new with Telkom rolling over to a new financial year? Or updating their infrastructure (*fingers crossed for better performance*)?
 
Last edited:

Yuu

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2006
Messages
4,999
Huawei E5377s-32 from Telkom Mobile DOTM 5GB at R99 from last year, Vodacom sim [CrystalMobile APN] works fine on LTE. Speeds are slow but that maybe because not much data usage in the area if i were to guess. Speeds around 14Mbps down/ 9Mbps up tested this past week.

Definitely issue on the Telkom Mobile network, am curious what happens in April though. :)
 

Raven7

Member
Joined
May 28, 2018
Messages
29
Telkom MyTelkom site down

View attachment 422050


It's not just me, right?
NOPE. You are right. Ive been battling to get onto both the Telkom website and the MyTelkom website since this morning. Website keeps coming up with error message you are showing in your post.
Tried phoning them. No answer. Hopefully tomorrow it will be up again so I can track my Wifi usage.
 

namzsteve

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
2,679
All their systems are down, I don't even have telkom reception on my phone. I'm roaming on MTN
 
Top