vlive.co.za??

True, I forgot about that. But essentially for that free traffic to be of use you would want the 2 things fairly similar or you'd only be paying for useless traffic. Like you would register vlive to sell other phones cause you know they are related, so essentially you would have registered the domain to get free traffic from vodacoms advertising. If that was the case the domain would be taken away.

I don't think they could take the domain away if you run a site that actively uses the domain and name for a purpose not closely related to cellphones. But don't take my word for it as I haven't been involved in domain disputes. If a client wants me to register a domain that is clearly to make a quick buck from someone else's name, I won't register it!
 
but what address would you try if you did not know the correct address? first comes to mind is www.vlive.co.za


thats exactly what i did, i just assumed it was vlive.coza (i wanted to send a sms from web site, i read somewhere that you can do so, but i got side tracked because of this whole vlive domain thing. )- and as it turns out it aint, and so i posted here.

Anyone managed to get any more info on the registered owner of vlive?

Can anyone check and see if www.vlive.com is owned by a south african?
 
Last edited:
1a. domain : vlive.co.za
1b. action : N
2a. registrant : Branded Internet
2b. registrantpostaladdress: P.O. Box 90765, Garsfontein, Pretoria, 0042
2c. registrantstreetaddress: P.O. Box 90765, Garsfontein, Pretoria, 0042
.....
2j. registrantphone : +27 12 998 1118
2k. registrantfax : +27 12 998 4004
2l. registrantemail : [email protected]
....
4a. admin : Terner, Lance
4b. admintitle : CEO
....
5a. tec : Philipp, Jacques
5b. tectitle : CTO

From the very first reply - just trimmed a little for easy reading :D

edit:
my minds playing tricks on me i'm sure
...check and see if www.vlive.com is owned by a south african?
said vlive.co.za when i last looked *shrug*
 
Last edited:
The vlive.com (as opposed to the .coza)is up and running with a page full of links... So i was just curious as to why the .com has been taken as well. And further more, is it someone from south africa who that as well.
 
Registration Service Provided By: Namebargain.com

Domain name: vlive.com

Registrant Contact:
DigitaLive.com
S. Hadi ([email protected])
+1.2137498777
Fax:
830 Childs Way Suite 18
Los Angeles, CA 90007
US
Nope - some dude in the US.... doing business using an AOL address :sick:
 
<SNIP>
So to retain a domain name, you have to have strong supporting evidence that it is directly tied to your active business.

This is wrong and has no basis in fact. It is not true for .com's or .co.za's - if this is what your legal advisors are saying - you need new ones ;-).

Now, if you were talking about com.au's - you might have a point....
 
Top
Sign up to the MyBroadband newsletter
X