Vodacom - Being unhelpful during the lockdown

rkcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
117
Due to the Coronavirus lockdown my wife and I have to work from home. As a consequence our data usage has significantly increased. My current cellular data package is 50GB/30GB, and I expect to need in excess of 200GB per month for April and May. I can’t top up 20GB at a time @R699 per bundle, as that will be insanely expensive.

I spoke to their call centre and the options to me were upgrade my package to a larger package, but that will only come into affect on 1st May (not helpful), and there will be a penalty when I want to downgrade back to 50/30. Or, I can start a new contract immediately, but there will be a penalty to cancel my existing contract, and there will be another penalty when I downgrade from the larger plan back to my preferred 50GB/30GB plan.

I spoke to a "Manager" at Vodacom, and asked if there was anything that could be done. All I was asking were for the penalties to be waived, was happy to upgrade to or start a new 300GB package at R999 per month, I would wait the obligatory 3 month wait period before making a change to my contract, and then downgrade back to my 50GB/30GB package. The only response I got was that this is how the contracts are written, and the T&C's must be adhered to. I asked if he could motivate to more senior management, he said he would. Needless to say I have not heard a thing from him.

Managed to get hold of a Vodacom rep on Facebook messenger, they were more focused on migrating me to fibre, they lost interest pretty quickly when they found I was not in a fibre area, and have not heard anything back since.

In light of fibre providers upgrading line speeds for free, I think its bad form for Vodacom to not offer anything to their customers during this national disaster. I'm not asking for anything free, just to offer a bit of flexibility in how they implement their T&C's.
 

rick9k

Active Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
46
go get a telkom prepaid sim( if we can ) load 200+200 gb for R1050 I think and cotinue.
 

elf_lord_ZC5

Executive Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2010
Messages
5,604
Apparently one can get a RAIN SIM in The current Cosmopolitan - R480.00 a month uncapped, but then you need to be in a RAIN coverage area.
 

rkcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
117
Thanks for the advice everyone. The complicating factor is I'm in a rural area with limited coverage.

I have an external omni directional cellular antenna which really helped with my Vodacom strength. I think I will try and get a Cell C SIM to see if I can get decent speeds. R500 for 50GB is way more manageable.
 

ponder

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
81,745
This get rain sim uncapped.
There's no rain coverage in his area, telkom only has 2/3g coverage. He seems to be just outside cellc fixed 4g coverage but has an antenna so might get lucky with cellc
 

rkcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
117
Quite right @ponder. I actually have a RAIN sim for when I am in town, don't have the coverage out here though.

The good news is that the Cell C card seems to work, with good enough speeds for what we require.



@impulse0157 Is that 100GB + 100GB for R449? I was looking at the 300GB + 300GB package for R999

Thanks for everyone's input.
 

impulse0157

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
74
Quite right @ponder. I actually have a RAIN sim for when I am in town, don't have the coverage out here though.

The good news is that the Cell C card seems to work, with good enough speeds for what we require.



@impulse0157 Is that 100GB + 100GB for R449? I was looking at the 300GB + 300GB package for R999

Thanks for everyone's input.
Hey bud no its 200gb anytime.it falls under vodacom business but they had no issues when i applied for home use. average speeds around 26mbs in centurion by me

i thought your were paying R999 for just 300gb anytime thats why i was a little shocked.did not realize its 300gb +300gb
 

rkcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
117
Hey bud no its 200gb anytime.it falls under vodacom business but they had no issues when i applied for home use. average speeds around 26mbs in centurion by me

i thought your were paying R999 for just 300gb anytime thats why i was a little shocked.did not realize its 300gb +300gb
You got a very good deal to what's currently on offer, haven't seen anything like that.

I'm currently on 50GB anytime/30GB nightime plan for R299pm, I was wanting to temporarily move to their 300GB anytime/300GB nighttime plan; so it is R999 for 300GB anytime

However, It's going to be easier for me to manage it 50GB at a time with Cell C, and a lot cheaper to what was on offer from Vodacom.
 

impulse0157

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
74
You got a very good deal to what's currently on offer, haven't seen anything like that.

I'm currently on 50GB anytime/30GB nightime plan for R299pm, I was wanting to temporarily move to their 300GB anytime/300GB nighttime plan; so it is R999 for 300GB anytime

However, It's going to be easier for me to manage it 50GB at a time with Cell C, and a lot cheaper to what was on offer from Vodacom.
they dont often advertise Vodacom business contracts..when i was in vodacom in centurion...there was no advertising at all. I was about to sign a more expensive one then i started to go through their pamphlet and found the vodacom business contracts. You could maybe just ask them.as far as i know it was no special or anything..Its just on the business side of vodacom

I Signed up in February this year
 

rkcj

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
117
they dont often advertise Vodacom business contracts..when i was in vodacom in centurion...there was no advertising at all. I was about to sign a more expensive one then i started to go through their pamphlet and found the vodacom business contracts. You could maybe just ask them.as far as i know it was no special or anything..Its just on the business side of vodacom

I Signed up in February this year
Ah, thanks, make sense.

Will keep that in mind when I'm next looking to upgrade/get a new data contract.
 
Top