What set-up do you recommend?

I am based in the UK living in a semi-rural area which I have managed to squeeze 3.5Mb out of ADSL until they introduced fibre to the exchange, not anywhere near me and now I struggle to get to 2Mb and sometime drops a lot further.

I am just learning about 4g after getting another adsl router with 4g built in - a Billion 7800dxl. This needs a dongle to work and is limited to 21Mb. This has triggered my interest and I don't really see the benefit of spending more money on a dongle, but going for a better quality 4g router and external antenna. Any advice would be appreciated.

I am less than one kilometer from a 4g mast - unfortunately it is in a dip and so am i plus it is surrounded by tall trees - definitely can't see it. The mast is 16m high power is 32dbW and frequency is 1800Mhz. I would estimate less than hundred properties within a 2 km radius but is near a motorway if this makes a difference.

My bias is to get either a router or mifi with minimum support of 10 devices, ideally have an option for external aerials. The Huawei B593 LTE looked like an interesting possible option - I would like to be able to cap the data usage via software if possible - by mac address would be an added benefit. Certainly within a monthly window. Any advice based on the above and yuor own experience would be gratefully received - Thanks

ginggs

Super Grandwizard
Super Moderator
I recommend a standalone router; either a MikroTik (e.g. RB750UP) or something that can be flashed with the ROOter firmware, and a separate USB LTE modem; either Huawei or Sierra Wireless. I think this would give you the most flexibility in terms of hardware and software.