- Joined
- Jun 28, 2017
- Messages
- 7,155
- Reaction score
- 958
South Africa’s biggest forum. Discuss, discover, and connect with thousands of members.
The headline is bad grammar.
It should read something like, "WhatsApp lets you delete a message an hour after sending it."
The headline is bad grammar.
It should read something like, "WhatsApp lets you delete a message an hour after sending it."
YesThe headline is bad grammar.
It should read something like, "WhatsApp lets you delete a message an hour after sending it."
NoWhatsApp now lets you delete a message for an hour thereafter the messages comes back.
(/) You deleted this message
So according to the subject you can never completely delete the message. You delete it for an hour, and then it comes back. So you delete it again for an hour and then it comes back. Repeat ad nauseam.
Deleting messages
You can delete messages for everyone or just for yourself.
To delete messages for everyone
Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats (*). Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
To delete messages for everyone:
Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.
Note:
In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.
(*) If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.
Recipients may see your message before it's deleted or if deletion was not successful.
You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.
To delete messages for yourself
Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your copy of messages you've sent or received from your phone. This has no effect on your recipients' chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen. To delete messages for yourself:
Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
Tap Delete > Delete for Me.
WhatsApp has quietly changed the way its message deletion feature works. Originally introduced in October, the WhatsApp “delete for everyone” used to only allow you to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them. WABetaInfo has noticed that the latest version of WhatsApp extends that time limit significantly to one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds.
It’s not clear why the limit is now so specific, apart from being 2^12, and the WhatsApp support pages don’t provide any additional info on the time limit. An hour means you now have far longer to delete messages sent by mistake
The headline is bad grammar.
It should read something like, "WhatsApp lets you delete a message an hour after sending it."
Why would you wait for an hour (or longer) after sending an oopsie?
You'll delete it straightaway...
Or when your mother responds with a pic of her junkYou might only notice an hour later
Or when your mother responds with a pic of her junk