Which software to use for iCall?

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,514
Hi,

Does anyone know what software I can get to use iBurst iCall in a similar manner to Skype (Voice calls)?
Purchased a voucher but I'm clueless from here on in...

Thanks in advance.
 

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,514
Thanks Ronald,

Will check this out now.

Thanks Ronald,

I'm really not looking to purchase any additional Hardware atm.
Just looking for a decent software client that will do the job under Win 7 x64.

PS - I have both desktop & usb modems available to me - but primarily running off the desktop via WLAN router.

No downloads on the iBurst website?
 
Last edited:

signates

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2009
Messages
6,607
You can try Zoiper. Been using it for my other VOIP accounts for the past two years. Download the free version. www.zoiper.com
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
5,460
We don't yet have an OEM 64 bit softphone (only 32 bit) We are waiting for an update from our vendor.

Thanks Ronald,

I'm really not looking to purchase any additional Hardware atm.
Just looking for a decent software client that will do the job under Win 7 x64.

PS - I have both desktop & usb modems available to me - but primarily running off the desktop via WLAN router.

No downloads on the iBurst website?
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,998
I've downloaded and installed it. Any ideas on how to configure it?
Sorry, don't have a Windows box handy, but I'll try and set it up later if nobody else replies.
Software is good for experimentation but the best solution is the following ATA: http://www.miro.co.za/detail.aspx?pid=442&p=3&sp=&spp=
+1

I have a Grandstream HT-502 and it works well. I even have my burglar alarm linked to it (unintentionally tested it this morning opening a window).

No downloads on the iBurst website?
There used to be, but I can't find them on the new site.
 
Last edited:

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,514
We don't yet have an OEM 64 bit softphone (only 32 bit) We are waiting for an update from our vendor.

The x32 version may possibly to the trick thanks Ronald. (I have plenty of x32 apps installed).
What Win 7 does is to create 2 separate 'Program Files' directories under the OS Partion/drive. 'Program Files' which is for native x64 and 'Program Files (x86) for the rest.
Do you have a download link available and how do I set it up, or is there documentation on that?
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,998
How to configure up SJphone for iCall.

SJphone 1.65:
Click on Menu / Options...
Click on Profiles tab
Click on New... and set up as follows:
Profile name: iCall
File name: iCall.ini
Profile type: Calls through SIP Proxy
Click OK
Click SIP Proxy tab
Enter Domain/Realm: sip.iburst.co.za
Click OK
Enter information to initialize the service profile
Account: 27877******
Password: ********
Check Save service information permanently

SJphone 1.60:
Click on the hammer & spanner icon in the centre of the UI
Click on Profiles tab
Click on New... and set up as follows:
Profile name: iCall
File name: iCall.ini
Profile type: Calls through SIP Proxy
Click OK
Click SIP Proxy tab
Enter Proxy domain: sip.iburst.co.za
Click OK
Enter information to initialize the service profile
Account: 27877******
Password: ********
Check Save service information permanently

I had problems with SJphone 1.65, eventually I tried version 1.60 and it just worked. It seems 1.65 tries to register the SIP connection differently and does not work behind my router, it does work fine with the iBurst UTD connected directly to the PC using a PPPoE connection. Strangely, 1.65 will work behind my router if 1.60 is run first.
 

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,514
Thanks so much for the detailed info ginggs. Much appreciated.

However neither 1.60 or 1.65 is giving me any joy behind my router. (EDIT - Direct LAN connection with desktop modem does the same)
"SIP: not registered
Host address: No active network interface"

I'm assuming the password is the same as for my iBurst account login?

@Rooi - maybe you can help out here?

Not to complain, but... Why doesn't iBurst AFAIK offer a soft phone download on their own web site if they offer the iCall service?
 
Last edited:

DagegeN

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,315
I'm assuming the password is the same as for my iBurst account login?

@Rooi - maybe you can help out here?

Howzit.

No the user and password is not the same as your iBurst internet account. You will have to contact help desk" shudder twitch twitch..." or PM Rooies ....
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
5,460
The x32 version may possibly to the trick thanks Ronald. (I have plenty of x32 apps installed).
What Win 7 does is to create 2 separate 'Program Files' directories under the OS Partion/drive. 'Program Files' which is for native x64 and 'Program Files (x86) for the rest.
Do you have a download link available and how do I set it up, or is there documentation on that?

I'll have a link put up on the web site.
 

r00igev@@r

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
5,460
Thanks so much for the detailed info ginggs. Much appreciated.

However neither 1.60 or 1.65 is giving me any joy behind my router. (EDIT - Direct LAN connection with desktop modem does the same)
"SIP: not registered
Host address: No active network interface"

I'm assuming the password is the same as for my iBurst account login?

@Rooi - maybe you can help out here?

Not to complain, but... Why doesn't iBurst AFAIK offer a soft phone download on their own web site if they offer the iCall service?

PM me your UTID and I'll have the mahala icall setup for you.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,998
Blink looks quite promising, and more recent than SJphone.

I haven't yet figured out how to set it up for iCall though.
 

Gekco

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,514
Howzit.

No the user and password is not the same as your iBurst internet account. You will have to contact help desk" shudder twitch twitch..." or PM Rooies ....

No I don't do that. Purely on past experience and principle. I've Pm'd Ronald the UTID details and hopefully I'll receive the pwd as well.
 

ginggs

༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
Super Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
11,998
Blink looks quite promising, and more recent than SJphone.

I haven't yet figured out how to set it up for iCall though.
R00i, I see the following in my blink sip trace logs:
Code:
2011-05-27 22:29:04.468000 [blink.exe 2192]: DNS lookup NAPTR sip.iburst.co.za failed: DNS response contains no answer

2011-05-27 22:29:04.656000 [blink.exe 2192]: DNS lookup SRV _sips._tcp.sip.iburst.co.za failed: DNS record does not exist

2011-05-27 22:29:04.828000 [blink.exe 2192]: DNS lookup SRV _sip._tcp.sip.iburst.co.za failed: DNS record does not exist

2011-05-27 22:29:05.015000 [blink.exe 2192]: DNS lookup SRV _sip._udp.sip.iburst.co.za failed: DNS record does not exist

2011-05-27 22:29:05.015000 [blink.exe 2192]: DNS lookup A sip.iburst.co.za succeeded, ttl=596: 196.2.126.52

2011-05-27 22:29:05.093000 [blink.exe 2192]: SENDING: Packet 1, +0:00:06.812000

197.106.36.196:1726 -(SIP over UDP)-> 196.2.126.52:5060
Does sip.iburst.co.za need some additional DNS records?
 
Top