Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 27 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 403

Thread: Arcade Game Project

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Arcade Game Project

    Some pics of my arcade game I'm building.

    This is the second one I've done so far, sold the first one a while ago.

    I used MDF wood for the cabinet:
    http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/6189/arcade1.jpg

    Started cutting out the sides:
    http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/7594/arcade2.jpg

    Both sides done, used the router to get a perfect match:
    http://img686.imageshack.us/img686/2070/arcade3.jpg

    And the result, LOTS of dust and this:
    http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/1804/arcade4j.jpg

    to be continued...

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23,591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I look forward to see the progress of this project. what frontend are you thinking of using?

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster cbrunsdonza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somerset West
    Posts
    12,972
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Awesome, I've been so tempted the last year to do the same for my little geek.
    Do something today for those than cannot do anything for you.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keeper View Post
    I look forward to see the progress of this project. what frontend are you thinking of using?
    HyperSpin FE
    Downloaded the full set of video previews as well as all the themes.

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster Bizkit87's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Somerset West
    Posts
    5,243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    cool, will also keep an eye on this, have been interested in creating one for a while now.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    With the first arcade I used a 54cm tv, but it was a bit too small. Decided to go for a 74cm this time.

    Bought a demo model 74cm slimfit flatscreen from Hifi Corporation:
    http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/4759/arcade5.jpg

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23,591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you gonna order controls and manually emulate them using a keyboard/controller board or just stick an x-arcade in there?

    also, does one need to strip the TV? I've been thinking of building my own for years!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keeper View Post
    you gonna order controls and manually emulate them using a keyboard/controller board or just stick an x-arcade in there?

    also, does one need to strip the TV? I've been thinking of building my own for years!
    I ordered the joysticks and buttons from Ultimarc and the coin door from Happ. I bought the UltraStick 360, it connects via the usb port, so no other emulation hardware needed. You can also connect up to 8 buttons to each joystick. It's a bit more expensive than the rest, but definitely the best joystick currently available.

    You can probably fit the tv inside without stripping it, but then the cabinet will end up a lot bigger. I stripped mine, saves a lot of space.

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23,591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    OMG that Hyperspin flippen rocks! Now I HAVE to have one!

    How much would you charge for a arcade frame - no TV or PC included, just the wood built and put together?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keeper View Post
    OMG that Hyperspin flippen rocks! Now I HAVE to have one!

    How much would you charge for a arcade frame - no TV or PC included, just the wood built and put together?
    PM me and we can work something out.

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    23,591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    just a ballpark figure - are you in Gauteng?

    (Putting it out there instead of PMing causes all other forumites to see, who might end up being interested too?)

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keeper View Post
    just a ballpark figure - are you in Gauteng?
    Nope, Cape Town. :-/

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Beginning of the frame of the cabinet:
    http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/4772/arcade6.jpg

  14. #14
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    2,058
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Oh man, this project is so schweet *subscribes to thread*

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 27 1234511 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •