Join us now. It is free, and it takes less than 1 minute to register.
Register now
Subscribe to our daily newsletter. It is free, and it comes with many benefits.


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53

Thread: MTN USSD codes

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Roodepoort
    Posts
    570
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default MTN USSD codes

    These are the MTN USSD codes to load and query data bundles and other options. This should alleviate the necessity to put the SIM in a regular phone for these actions.

    1. *141# - Balance Enquiry

    response format:

    "Y'ello. You have Rxx.xx airtime, xx.xxMB Data, xx MMS and xxx SMS (xx exp dd/mm) remaining."

    2. *141*<PIN># - Recharge Request

    3. *141*4# - Tariff Analyser and Priceplan Migrations menu

    4. *141*4*0# - Tariff Analyser

    5. *141*4*<Price Plan Option># - Priceplan migration

    6. *141*6*<BundleSize># - Data bundle purchase

    7. *141*6*0# - Data bundle cancellation

    8. *141*6328*<MSISDN># - Me2U Top Up Request

    9. *141*6328*<MSISDN>*<AMOUNT># - Me2U Transfer

    10. *141*7*<BundleSize># SMS bundle purchase

    11. *141*7*0# - SMS bundle cancellation

    12. *141*8# - Yello Fortune Entries


    Update 2013-10-25:

    13. *141*5# - Content Billing

    14. *123*888# - MSISDN query (retrieve own number)
    Last edited by ginggs; 28-04-2014 at 08:56 PM.

  2. #2
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,987
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks Insider. Are those are for Prepaid and Top-Up customers only?

  3. #3
    Master
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Roodepoort
    Posts
    570
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Thanks Insider. Are those are for Prepaid and Top-Up customers only?
    Prepaid - all of it.
    Hybrid - bundle provisioning is done via the SP so they can only execute the balance queries.
    Contract - no.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    Posts
    2,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ah yeah.. thanks.. these are useful..

    Any USSD code for checking when a current bundle expires? - Just in case I forget..
    Thanks.
    NextGenNews - Best Usenet host! (referral link)

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Censorville
    Posts
    6,592
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It would be nice if it followed closely the voice equivalent:
    Dial 141 ...
    "You have x airtime, press 1 for other balances"
    2 for big bonus
    3 to load airtime
    4 for price plan info
    5 for me to u transfer
    9 for voicemail preferences

    and then you press 1 and get:
    "press 1 for all balances"
    2 for SMS
    3 for MMS
    4 for data balance

    Then you could use a USSD shortcut to get the data balance by putting in:
    *141*1*4# to go straight to data balance.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Midrand
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I have a standalone HSDPA modem & would be very happy to find a tool that submits those commands from my Linux box.
    Suggestions please.

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    Posts
    2,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stockton View Post
    I have a standalone HSDPA modem & would be very happy to find a tool that submits those commands from my Linux box.
    Suggestions please.
    Which modem do you have?

    I use minicom to run these commands on my USB Huawei E220.. (under Linux).
    NextGenNews - Best Usenet host! (referral link)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Pretoria / 172.24.196.59
    Posts
    263
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    How would one submit these codes on windows?... I have an E220

  9. #9
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    Posts
    2,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgcarter View Post
    How would one submit these codes on windows?... I have an E220
    There is a thread somewhere here about doing it... I can't remember what it was called though..

    I think Windows has some sort of terminal dialing app somewhere under accessories...
    NextGenNews - Best Usenet host! (referral link)

  10. #10
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,987
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dgcarter View Post
    How would one submit these codes on windows?... I have an E220
    Use Hyper Terminal, explained here, or even easier, use E620 Tool, available here.

  11. #11
    Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Centurion, Gauteng, ZA
    Posts
    839
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Doing then the following ...

    Note after the numerical choice menus the correct output of the following result will be displayed , takes a few seconds.

    *162*pin*1#,1 = All bundles including rand and mb of databundle.

    *162*pin*1#,2 = Rand Value

    *162*pin*1#,3 = Data bundle value

  12. #12
    Super Grandwizard ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Kapkaupunki
    Posts
    10,987
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Insider View Post
    6. *141*6*<BundleSize># - Data bundle purchase

    10. *141*7*<BundleSize># SMS bundle purchase
    @Insider:
    What are the valid values for <BundleSize>?
    How about *141*6# and *141*7# giving the user a menu listing the possible choices for data and SMS bundles respectively?

  13. #13
    Master
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    997
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Has anyone discovered any USSD codes that work for contract customers?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    35
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I notice that the *162*pin*1# works on the cellphone but how do I make it work on my data card. Can I run USSD on that MTN Huawei dashboard program.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default ussd codes on mac

    I wrote a little application to enter these codes on mac OS X 10.5

    check it out and let me know
    www.exhibit-a.co.za/USSD/

    it works on PowerBook G4 and Ibook and E220 huawei modem ,still testing on intel machines

    update : new version works on Intel, check the website


    any feedback is very much appreciated

    Zeljko
    Last edited by amet; 14-10-2008 at 12:14 PM.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •