Destop PC issue

SteveO

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
1,041
Hi Guys

Looking to see if anyone has had a similar problem or has any advise.

my pc was working perfectly on sunday eve and i had shut it down etc that night, turned off the power at the mains etc.

On monday after work i got home and tried turning the thing on but it was dead, only the green standby light on the mobo was lit.

So i proceeded to check connections etc, check the power switch took out the PSU and tested it, was A ok.

So thought i was prob the mobo acting up.

On the advice of the guys i bought the system from (they in CT and I am in JHB now) i disconnected all the non essentials, re-installed the RAM and then tried booting again. After playing with the switch a few times it booted, however there was a constant, long beep.So i figured it was moaning bout things not being connected and re connected all the HDD's, DVD drive etc

The system then booted without a hitch, but now i have no output to my LCD. The LCD is working as i am running my laptop on it in the mean time but i cant pick up a signal from the desktop PC. Video Cards fan is up and running and all the power connectors it needs are plugged in etc.

besides the obvious video card being stuffed are there any other suggestions?Could it still be the mobo as i dont get the usual 'beep" on a good boot.

My setup is as follows:
Intel Core2 Duo 8400
Asus P5N-D mobo
2 Gb RAM Apogee
Nvidia 8800GT
2x 320Gb SATA HDD's (stripping)
Coolermaster 650w PSU

any help would be appreciated

thanks guys :)
 

ColinR

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
3,753
Not got a spare graphics card lying around? Pity the board doesn't have onboard graphics.
 

SteveO

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
1,041
hmm gonna ask a mate, i think he's got a spare lying around somewhere, but i think its AGP :(
 

Thestealth

Expert Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
2,361
Sounds like the GPU's the only problem here. Test with a spare (if possible). This should confirm it and the machine should boot properly, thus confirming the mobo is still ok. Let us know what you find.
 

howardb

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
3,467
Maybe try resetting/checking the BIOS setting and boot again.
 

wishblade

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
635
Hehe... I knew a guy who had this type of issue once. He had stuck the connector from the screen into the wrong graphic card port, essentially plugging the screen into the port from the motherboard itself, and not into the graphics card port...

Oh well, not likely related - just thought I would share anyway... :D
 

SteveO

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
1,041
lol yeah seems so.just wanted to check with the guys on here if there were any similar issues. cos the whole not booting at all at first is making me wonder if its not the mobo that is just Foooked and the GPU is actually fine but cos the mobo is in its chops its making the GPU look like is gone awol.

thanks again guys.

Taking it all down to CT with me next week to get the guys i bought it from to sort out.Hopefully its just the GPU cos its still under warranty :)
 

Sselmrah

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
217
And just make sure there's no onboard video, and you've plugged the screen into the onboard instead of the gfx card.
 

N1sh

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2008
Messages
975
I had the exact same problem with the girlfriends pc, I just removed that battery and replaced. Worked fine after that.
 

kronoSX

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
14,605
here is another tip.You see where the monitor plugs in,check on top there is a 5mm nut.Remove the top one closest to where you screw is to tighten the graphic card. that nut must be removed carefully and start up the pc again.I am giving this tip cause i experienced the same issue a month back.For some reason the pc case warps and this causes the card to short out or lift mm's from the agp or pcie socket.
I removed my screw and never looked back again.
 

SteveO

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
1,041
hmm CMOS reset didnt work :(

just gonna take it all down to CT with me this weekend
 

Esquire

Esquire representative
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
2,326
hmm CMOS reset didnt work :(

just gonna take it all down to CT with me this weekend

Hi steve
This is a very common problem , can I suggest you try three things

1) switch off the PC and remove the plug from the wall and the case
leave it for 10 minutes and try again.

2) if that does not work try removing the VGA card , get some tin foil and place the Vga card on it for about 20 minutes and then try it again

3)If you using a onboard Vga , remove the motherboard place it on tin foil for 20 minutes and try again

we do this almost every day with "Dead Motherboards or Graphics cards and they work"

It might sound crazy but it works- If all fails then you motherboards or graphic card is ^!*@!#!!%$
 
Top